The House will meet at 9 a.m. tomorrow and immediately resume consideration of amendments to H.R. 2122. One minutes will be at the end of the day.

Mr. Speaker, we will probably begin debate tomorrow with the Davis of Virginia amendment with 30 minutes of debate. We will then have a series of three to four votes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. Lahood). The question is on the passage of the bill.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Mr. McCOLLUM. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. This will be a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 287, nays 139, not voting 9, as follows:

[Roll No. 233]

YEAS-287

1 EAS-287		
Aderholt	Dicks	Jenkins
Archer	Dooley	John
Armey	Doolittle	Johnson (CT)
Bachus	Doyle	Johnson, Sam
Baird	Dreier	Jones (NC)
Baker	Duncan	Kaptur
Ballenger	Dunn	Kasich
Barcia	Ehlers	Kelly
Barr Barrett (NE)	Ehrlich	Kildee
Barrett (NE) Bartlett	Emerson English	King (NY) Kingston
Barton	Etheridge	Knollenberg
Bass	Evans	Kolbe
Bateman	Everett	Kuykendall
Bentsen	Ewing	LaHood
Bereuter	Fletcher	Lampson
Berkley	Foley	Largent
Berry	Forbes	Larson
Biggert	Fossella	Latham
Bilbray	Fowler	LaTourette
Bilirakis	Franks (NJ)	Lazio
Bishop	Frelinghuysen	Leach
Bliley	Frost	Lewis (CA)
Blunt	Gallegly	Lewis (KY)
Boehlert Boehner	Ganske Gekas	Linder Lipinski
Bonilla	Gibbons	LoBiondo
Bonior	Gilchrest	Lowey
Bono	Gillmor	Lucas (KY)
Borski	Gilman	Lucas (OK)
Boswell	Goode	Luther
Boyd	Goodlatte	Maloney (CT)
Brady (TX)	Goodling	Manzullo
Bryant	Gordon	Mascara
Burr	Goss	McCarthy (NY)
Burton	Graham	McCollum
Buyer	Granger	McCrery
Callahan	Green (TX)	McHugh
Calvert	Green (WI)	McInnis
Camp	Greenwood Gutknecht	McIntosh McIntyre
Canady Capps	Hall (OH)	McKeon
Castle	Hall (TX)	Mica
Chabot	Hansen	Miller (FL)
Chambliss	Hastert	Miller, Gary
Chenoweth	Hastings (WA)	Moore
Clement	Hayes	Moran (VA)
Coble	Hayworth	Myrick
Collins	Hefley	Nethercutt
Combest	Herger	Ney
Condit	Hill (IN)	Northup
Cook	Hill (MT)	Norwood
Cooksey	Hilleary	Nussle
Cox Cramer	Hinojosa Hobson	Ortiz Ose
	Hoekstra	Oxley
Crane Crowley	Holden	Packard
Cunningham	Hooley	Pascrell
Davis (FL)	Horn	Peterson (MN)
Davis (VA)	Hulshof	Peterson (PA)
Deal	Hunter	Petri
DeLay	Hutchinson	Phelps
DeMint	Hyde	Pickering
Deutsch	Inslee	Pitts
Diaz-Balart	Isakson	Pombo
Dickey	Istook	Pomeroy

Portman Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Reyes Reynolds Riľey Roemer Rogan Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Rothman Roukema Royce Ryan (WI) Rvun (KS) Sanchez Sandlin Scarborough Schaffer Sensenbrenner Sessions Shadegg Shaw Sherman

Sherwood Terry Thompson (CA) Shimkus Shows Thornberry Shuster Thune Toomey Simpson Sisisky Traficant Skeen Turner Udall (CO) Skelton Smith (MI) Udall (NM) Smith (NJ) Unton Smith (TX) Vitter Smith (WA) Walden Walsh Snyder Souder Wamp Spence Watkins Watts (OK) Spratt Stabenow Weiner Weldon (FL) Stearns Weldon (PA) Stenholm Weller Strickland Weygand Whitfield Stump Sununu Wicker Sweeney Talent Wilson Tancredo Wise Tanner Tauscher Wolf Wu Young (AK) Tauzin Taylor (MS) Young (FL) Taylor (NC)

NAYS-139

Gutierrez Moran (KS) Abercrombie Ackerman Hastings (FL) Morella Allen Hilliard Murtha Andrews Hinchey Nadler Baldacci Hoeffel Napolitano Baldwin Holt Neal Barrett (WI) Hostettler Oberstar Hoyer Jackson (IL) Becerra Obey Olver Berman Blagojevich Jackson-Leé Owens Blumenauer (TX) Pallone Jefferson Boucher Pastor Brady (PA) Johnson, E. B. Paul Brown (FL) Jones (OH) Payne Brown (OH) Kanjorski Pease Campbell Kennedy Pelosi Kilpatrick Pickett Cannon Kind (WI) Rahall Capuano Cardin Kleczka Rangel Clav Klink Rivers Clayton Kucinich Rodriguez Roybal-Allard Clyburn LaFalce Coburn Lantos Rush Conyers Sabo Lee Costello Levin Sanders Lewis (GA) Sanford Coyne Cummings Lofgren Sawyer Maloney (NY) Schakowsky Danner Davis (IL) Markey Scott DeFazio Martinez Serrano DeGette Matsui Slaughter Delahunt McCarthy (MO) Stark DeLauro McDermott Stupak Thompson (MS) Dingell McGovern McKinney Thurman Dixon Tiahrt McNulty Doggett Edwards Meehan Tiernev Meek (FL) Engel Towns Eshoo Meeks (NY) Velazquez Farr Menendez Vento Visclosky Fattah Metcalf Filner Millender-Waters Watt (NC) McDonald Ford Miller, George Frank (MA) Waxman Wexler Gejdenson Mink Moakley Gephardt Woolsev Gonzalez Mollohan Wynn

NOT VOTING-9

Brown (CA) Houghton Saxton Carson Minge Shays Cubin Salmon Thomas

□ 2102

So the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

Stated for:

Mrs. CUBIN. Mr. Speaker, on rollcall No. 233, I was unavoidably detained. Had I been present, I would have voted "yes."

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

Mr. SHAYS. Mr. Speaker, earlier today, I was in Connecticut participating in the commencement ceremony at Greenwich High School and, therefore, missed eight recorded votes.

I take my voting responsibility very seriously, having missed only 4 votes in my almost 12 years in Congress.

I would like to say for the RECORD that had I been present I would have voted "yes" on recorded vote number 226, "yes" on recorded vote number 227, "yes" on recorded vote 228, "yes" on recorded vote 230, "yes" on recorded vote 231, "no" on recorded vote 232, and "yes" on recorded vote 233.

ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING
AMENDMENT PROCESS FOR H.R.
1658, CIVIL ASSET FORFEITURE
REFORM ACT

Mr. DREIER. Mr. Speaker, the Committee on Rules is expected to meet on Tuesday June 22, 1999, to grant a rule for the consideration of the bill H.R. 1658, the Civil Asset Forfeiture Reform Act.

The Committee on Rules may grant a rule which would require that amendments be preprinted in the CONGRESSIONAL RECORD. In this case, amendments to be preprinted would need to be signed by the Member and submitted to the Speaker's table no later than the close of business Tuesday, June 22.

Amendments should be drafted to the version of the bill ordered reported by the Committee on the Judiciary, a copy of which may be obtained from the committee

Members should use the Office of Legislative Counsel to ensure that their amendments are properly drafted, and should check with the Office of the Parliamentarian to be certain their amendments comply with the rules of the House.

MANDATORY GUN SHOW BACKGROUND CHECK ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. LAHOOD). Pursuant to House Resolution 209 and rule XVIII, the Chair declares the House in the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union for the consideration of the bill, H.R. 2122.

□ 2103

IN THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Accordingly, the House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 2122) to require background checks at gun shows, and for other purposes, with Mr. Thornberry in the chair.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The CHAIRMAN. Pursuant to the rule, the bill is considered as having been read the first time.

Under the rule, the gentleman from Florida (Mr. McCollum) and the gentleman from Michigan (Mr. Conyers) each will control 30 minutes.