CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—HOUSE

Levin Lewis (KY)

Evans

rger

H8466

Ballance

Davis, Jo Ann

Carter

Deutsch

Gephardt

Fattah

Gordon

Whitfield Wilson (SC) Wicker Wolf

Wilson (SC) Wolf	Young (AK) Young (FL)
NOT VOTING	—19
Hensarling Houghton Hunter Israel Lewis (GA) Osborne Pastor	Payne Ruppersberg Sweeney Terry Woolsey

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. PENCE) (during the vote). There are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

\Box 1906

Mr. GUTKNECHT changed his vote from "yea" to "nay."

So the motion to instruct was rejected.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

Mrs. JO ANN DAVIS of Virginia, Mr. Speaker, on rollcall No. 509 (H.R. 1308) and rollcall No. 510 (H.R. 1), I was detained in my district touring disaster areas from Hurricane Isabel and trying to obtain help from FEMA. Had I been present I would have voted "no" on both H.R. 1308 (rollcall 509) and H.R. 1 (rollcall 510).

MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES ON H.R. 1588, NATIONAL DEFENSE AUTHORIZATION ACT FOR FIS-CAL YEAR 2004

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the question on the motion to instruct conferees on H.R. 1588.

The Clerk will designate the motion. The Clerk designated the motion.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion to instruct conferees offered by the gentleman from Texas (Mr. RODRIGUEZ) on which the yeas and nays are ordered.

This will be a 5-minute vote.

Boyd

Buyer

Capito

Capps

Cardin

Case

Clav

Cole

Cooper

Castle

The vote was taken by electronic device. and there were-yeas 298, nays 118, not voting 18, as follows:

[Roll	No.	511]
YEA	S-	298

Abercrombie Ackerman Aderholt Alexander Allen Andrews Baca Bachus Baird Baker Baldwin Bartlett (MD) Bass Beauprez Becerra Bell Berkley Berman Berry Biggert Bishop (GA) Bishop (NY) Blumenauer Boehlert Bonilla Bonner Boswell

Boucher Davis (AL) Davis (CA) Bradley (NH) Brady (PA) Davis (FL) Davis (IL) Brown (OH) Davis (TN) Davis, Jo Ann Davis, Tom Brown, Corrine Burton (IN) DeFazio DeGette Delahunt Capuano DeLauro Diaz-Balart, L Diaz-Balart, M. Cardoza Carson (IN) Dicks Dingell Carson (OK) Doggett Dooley (CA) Dovle Clyburn Dreier Dunn Conyers Edwards Ehlers Costello Emanuel Cramer Engel English Crenshaw Crowley Cummings Eshoo Etheridge

Everett Farr Ferguson Filner Fletcher Foley Ford Frank (MA) Frelinghuysen Frost Gerlach Gilchrest Gillmor Gingrey Gonzalez Granger Green (TX) Greenwood Grijalva Gutierrez Hall Harman Hastings (FL) Havworth Hefley Hill Hinchev Hinojosa Hobson Hoeffel Holden Holt Honda Hooley (OR) Hover Hulshof Inslee Jackson (IL) Jackson-Lee (TX) Janklow Jefferson John Johnson (CT) Johnson (IL) Johnson, E. B Jones (NC) Jones (OH Kaniorski Kaptur Keller Kelly Kennedy (MN) Kennedy (RI) Kildee Kilpatrick Kind King (NY) Kirk Kleczka Kline Kolbe Kucinich LaHood Lampson Langevin Lantos Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Latham LaTourette Leach Lee Akin Ballenger Barrett (SC) Barton (TX) Bereuter Bilirakis Bishop (UT) Blackburn Blunt Boehner Bono Boozman Brady (TX) Brown (SC) Brown-Waite, Ginny Burgess Burns Burr

Calvert

Cannon

Cantor

Camp

Lipinski LoBiondo Lofgren Lowey Lucas (KY) Lynch Majette Maloney Markey Marshall Matheson Matsui McCarthy (MO) McCarthy (NY) McCollum McCotter McCrerv McDermott McGovern McHugh McInnis McIntyre McNultv Meehan Meek (FL) Meeks (NY) Menendez Michaud Millender-McDonald Miller (MI) Miller (NC) Miller, George Mollohan Moore Moran (VA) Murphy Murtha Myrick Nadler Napolitano Neal (MA) Nev Nunes Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Otter Owens Pallone Pascrell Paul Pearce Pelosi Peterson (MN) Peterson (PA) Petri Pickering Pomeroy Porter Portman Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Putnam Quinn Radanovich Rahall Rangel Regula Renzi Reves NAYS-118 Chabot Chocola Coble Collins Cox Crane Cubin Culberson Cunningham Deal (GA) DeLav DeMint Doolittle Duncan Emerson Feeney Flake Forbes Fossella Franks (AZ) Gallegly Garrett (NJ) Gibbons

Rodriguez Rogers (AL) Ros-Lehtinen Ross Rothman Roybal-Allard Rush Ryan (OH) Rvan (WI) Ryun (KS) Sabo Sanchez, Linda Т. Sanchez, Loretta Sanders Sandlin Saxton Schakowsky Schiff Schrock Scott (GA) Scott (VA) Serrano Shaw Shays Sherman Simmons Simpson Skelton Slaughter Smith (NJ) Smith (WA) Snyder Solis Spratt . Stark Stenholm Strickland Stupak Sullivan Tanner Tauscher Tauzin Taylor (MS) Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Tiberi Tierney Towns Turner (OH) Turner (TX) Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Van Hollen Velazquez Visclosky Walden (OR) Walsh Waters Watson Watt Waxman Weiner Weldon (PA) Weller Wexler Whitfield Wilson (NM) Wolf Wu

Wvnn Young (AK)

Goss

Hart

Hvde

Issa

Goode Goodlatte Graves Green (WI) Gutknecht Harris Hastings (WA) Hayes Herger Hoekstra Hostettler Isakson Istook Jenkins Johnson, Sam King (IA) Kingston Knollenberg Lewis (CA)

Linder Lucas (OK) Manzullo McKeon Mica Miller (FL) Miller, Gary Moran (KS) Musgrave Nethercutt Neugebauer Northup Norwood Nussle Ose Oxley Pence Ballance

Carter

Deutsch

Gephardt

Fattah

Gordon

Septemb	er 23, 2003
ts htts mbo mstad hherg ynolds gers (KY) gers (MI) hrabacher yce nsenbrenner ssions adegg erwood imkus uster uster hith (MI)	Smith (TX) Souder Stearns Tancredo Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Toomey Upton Vitter Wamp Weldon (FL) Wicker Wilson (SC) Young (FL)

NOT VOTING-18

Pitts

Platts

Pombo

Ramsta

Rehber

Reynol

Rogers Rogers

Rohrab

Royce

Sensen

Session

Shadeg

Sherw

Shimk

Shuste

Smith

Hensar

Hought

Hunter

Israel

Lewis (

Osborn

ling	Pastor
on	Payne
	Ruppersberger
	Sweeney
(GA)	Terry
e	Woolsey

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE The SPEAKER pro tempore (during the vote). There are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

□ 1915

Mr. HULSHOF, Mr. EVERETT, and Mrs. KELLY changed their vote from 'nay'' to ''yea.'

So the motion to instruct was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

□ 1915

EASTERN BAND OF CHEROKEE IN-DIANS LAND EXCHANGE ACT OF 2002

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. PENCE). The pending business is the question of suspending the rules and passing the bill, H.R. 1409.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Arizona (Mr. RENZI) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, H.R. 1409, on which the yeas and nays are ordered.

This will be a 5-minute vote. The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were-yeas 288, nays 127, not voting 19, as follows:

> [Roll No. 512] YEAS-288

Blunt

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Bonner

Boozman

Boswell

Boucher

Bradley (NH) Brady (TX)

Brown-Waite,

Brown (SC)

Ginny

Burton (IN)

Burgess

Burns

Buyer

Calvert

Burr

Bono

Abercrombie Aderholt Akin Alexander Baca Bachus Baker Ballenger Barrett (SC) Bartlett (MD) Barton (TX) Bass Beauprez Becerra Bereuter Biggert Bilirakis Bishop (NY) Bishop (UT) Blackburn Blumenauer

Camp Cannon Cantor Capito Capuano Cardoza Carson (IN) Carson (OK) Case Castle Chabot Chocola Brown, Corrine Clay Coble Cole Collins Conyers Cox Cramer Crane Crenshaw