NEBRASKA

NEBRASKA

(Population 2000, 1,711,263)

SENATORS

CHUCK HAGEL, Republican, of Omaha, NE; born in North Platte, NE, October 4, 1946; education: graduated, St. Bonaventure High School, Columbus, NE, 1964; Brown Institute for Radio and Television, Minneapolis, MN; University of Nebraska, Omaha; military service: served with U.S. Army in Vietnam, 1968, receiving two Purple Hearts, other decorations; professional: president, McCarthy and Company, Omaha, NE; president and CEO, Private Sector Council (PSC), Washington, DC; deputy director and CEO, Economic Summit of Industrialized Nations (G–7 Summit), 1990; president and CEO, World USO; cofounder, director, and executive vice president, VANGUARD Cellular Systems, Inc.; cofounder and chairman of VAN-GUARD subsidiary, Communications Corporation International, Ltd.; president, Collins, Hagel and Clarke, Inc.; former deputy administrator, Veterans' Administration; former administrative assistant to Congressman John Y. McCollister (R–NE); former newscaster and talk show host, Omaha radio stations KBON and KLNG; member: American Legion; Veterans of Foreign Wars; Disabled American Veterans; Military Order of the Purple Heart; Business-Government Relations Council, Washington, DC; Council for Excellence in Government; University of Nebraska Chancellors Club; board of directors, Omaha Chapter of the American Red Cross; chairman: Building Campaign, Great Plains Chapter of Paralyzed Veterans of America; 10th Anniversary Vietnam Veterans' Memorial; board of directors, Arlington National Cemetery Historical Society; chairman of the board, No Greater Love, Inc.; awards: first-ever World USO Leadership Award; International Men of Achievement; Outstanding Young Men of America; Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Nebraska, Omaha, 1988; Freedom Foundation (Omaha Chapter) 1993 Recognition Award; married: the former Lilibet Ziller, 1985; children: Allyn and Ziller; committees: Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs; Foreign Relations; Rules and Administration; Select Committee on Intelligence; subcommittees: chair, Securities and Inv

Office Listings

http://hagel.senate.gov	
248 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510	
Legislative Director.—Jill Konz.	FAX: 224–5213
Office Manager.—Marilouis Hudgins.	
Communications Director.—Michael Buttry.	
11301 Davenport Street, Suite 2, Omaha, NE 68154	(402) 758-8981
State Director.—Bill Protexter.	
294 Federal Building, 100 Centennial Mall North, Lincoln, NE 68508	(402) 476-1400
Constituent Services Director.—Dorothy Anderson.	
4111 Fourth Avenue, Suite 26, Kearney, NE 68845	(308) 236-7473
Constituent Services Representative.—Julie Brooker.	
115 Railway Street, C102, Scottsbluff, NE 69361	(308) 632-6032
State Agriculture Director.—Mary B. Crawford.	

* * *

E. BENJAMIN NELSON, Democrat, of Omaha, NE; born in McCook, NE, May 17, 1941; education: University of Nebraska at Lincoln; received a bachelor's degree in 1963, a master's degree in 1965, and a law degree in 1970; professional: attorney; Director, Nebraska Department of Insurance; President and CEO of the Central National Insurance Group; Executive Vice President and Chief of Staff of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Kennedy, Holland, DeLacy, and Svoboda (law firm); awards: Thomas Jefferson Freedom Award; George W. Norris Award; National Eagle Scout Association Distinguished Eagle Award; family: married to Diane; four children; Governor of Nebraska, 1991–1999; committees: Agriculture, Nutriton, and Forestry; Armed Services; Commerce, Science, and Transportation; Rules and Administration; elected to the U.S. Senate on November 7, 2000.

720 Hart Senate Office Building, wasnington, DC 20510	(202) 224-0331
Chief of Staff.—Tim Becker.	FAX: 228-0012
Communications DirectorDavid DiMartino.	

NEBRASKA

109th Congress

North, Lincoln, NE 68508	(402) 441–4600
154	(402) 301 3411

Federal Building, Room 287, Centennial Mall North, Lincoln, NE 68508	(402) 441–4600
State Director.—W. Don Nelson. 7602 Pacific Street, Suite 205, Omaha, NE 68154	(402) 391-3411
P.O. Box 1891, Scottsbluff, NE 69361	(308) 631-7614
P.O. Box 1033, Chadron, NE 69337	(308) 430–0587

REPRESENTATIVES

FIRST DISTRICT

JEFF FORTENBERRY, Republican, of Lincoln, NE; born in Baton Rouge, LA, December 27, 1960; education: B.A., Louisiana State University, 1978; M.P.P., Georgetown University, Washington, DC, 1986; M. Div., Franciscan University, Steubenville, Ohio, 1996; professional: Lincoln City Council, 1997–2001; publishing executive; worked as economist; managed a public relations firm; congressional aide for the Senate Subcommittee on Intergovernmental Relations; family: married to Celeste Gregory; children: four; committees: Agriculture; Inter-national Relations; Smull Bucinese; elected to the 100th Congress on Novamber 2, 2004. national Relations; Small Business; elected to the 109th Congress on November 2, 2004.

Office Listings

http://www.house.gov/fortenberry	
1517 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515	(202) 225-4806
Chief of Staff.—Ben Sasse.	FAX: 225-5686
Legislative Director.—Ginger Langemeier.	
Legislative Assistant.—Alan Feyerherm.	
Scheduler.—Tyler Grassmeyer.	
301 South 13th Street, Suite 100, Lincoln, NE 68508	(402) 438-1598
629 North Broad Street, P.O. Box 377, Fremont, NE 68025	(402) 727–0888

Counties: BURT, BUTLER, CASS, CEDAR (part), COLFAX, CUMING, DAKOTA, DIXON, DODGE, GAGE, JOHNSON, LANCASTER, MADISON, NEMAHA, OTOE, PAWNEE, RICHARDSON, SARPY (part), THURSTON, WASHINGTON, WAYNE. Population (2000), 570,421.

ZIP Codes: 68001–04, 68007–09, 68014–20, 68023, 68025–26, 68028–31, 68033–34, 68036–42, 68044–48, 68050, 68055, 68057–59, 68061–68, 68070–73, 68112, 68122–23, 68133, 68136, 68138, 68142, 68144, 68152, 68301, 68304–05, 68307, 68309–10, 68313–14, 68316–21, 68323–24, 68328–33, 68336–37, 68339, 68341–49, 68351, 68355, 68357–60, 68364, 68366–68, 68371–72, 68376, 68378, 68380–82, 68401–05, 68407, 68409–10, 68413–15, 68417–24, 68428, 68430–31, 68433–34, 68437–39, 68441–43, 68443–48, 68452–58, 68400–67, 68501–10, 68512, 68514, 68516, 68520–24, 68526, 68528–29, 68532, 68542, 68538, 68588, 68601, 68621, 68624, 68626, 68621, 68624, 68627, 68631–33, 68635, 68641–44, 68648–49, 68658–59, 68661–67, 68669, 68701–02, 68710–02, 68710–71, 68723–24, 68727–28, 68731–33, 68739–41, 68743, 68745, 68747–49, 68751–52, 68757–58, 68767–68, 68770–71, 68776, 68779, 68781, 68784–85, 68784–85, 68787–88, 68790–92

* * *

SECOND DISTRICT

LEE TERRY, Republican, of Omaha, NE; born in Omaha, January 29, 1962; education: B.A., University of Nebraska, 1984; J.D., Creighton Law School, 1987; attorney; elected to the Omaha, NE, City Council, 1990-98; served as vice president and president, and on the audit, legislative, and cable television committees; religion: Methodist; married: Robyn; children: Nolan, Ryan, and Jack; committees: Energy and Commerce; elected to the 106th Congress; reelected to each succeeding Congress.

Office Listings

http://www.house.gov/terry	
1524 Longworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515	(202) 225-4155
Chief of Staff.—Eric Hultman.	FAX: 226-5452
Legislative Director.—Jamie Karl.	
Appointment Secretary.—Lindsey Witt.	
Press Secretary.—Jen Rae Hein.	
11640 Arbor Street, Suite 100, Omaha, NE 68144	(402) 397-9944
District Director.—Molly Koozer-Lloyd.	

Counties: DOUGLAS, SARPY (part). CITIES: Bellevue, Bennington, Boys Town, Elkhorn, Gretna, La Vista, Omaha, Offutt AFB, Papillion, Plattsmouth, Ralston, Springfield, Valley, and Waterloo. Population (2000), 570,421.

ZIP Codes: 68005, 68007, 68010, 68022, 68028, 68046, 68056, 68064, 68069, 68101–14, 68116–20, 68122–24, 68127–28, 68130–39, 68142, 68144–45, 68147, 68152, 68154–55, 68157, 68164, 68172, 68175–76, 68178–83, 68197–98