- (2) Provide us a written report of all Alaskan reindeer kept, born, died or transferred.
- (e) We may permit possession of a limited number of Alaskan reindeer by a non-Native applicant under a Special Use Permit for Public Display.
- (1) We can revoke this permit for cause.
- (2) The permit will not allow the permit-holder to keep a breeding herd (*i.e.*, a herd that is capable of reproduction).
- (3) The permit-holder must report to us in writing by the last day of September each year on all reindeer held under this permit.

§ 243.5 Who can own imported reindeer, and what limitations apply?

- (a) Anyone, including non-Natives, may own imported reindeer in Alaska for any legitimate purpose, subject to State and Federal animal health laws and regulations.
- (b) Imported reindeer must not be intermingled with, or be bred to, Alaskan reindeer without our written consent. Any offspring resulting from a mating with Alaskan reindeer are considered Alaskan reindeer and a non-Native owner may not maintain these reindeer alive in Alaska.
- (c) This paragraph applies if a non-Native owner of imported reindeer in Alaska contracts with a Native reindeer owner to keep and manage the imported reindeer. The non-Native owner must:
- (1) Distinguish the imported reindeer from the Alaskan reindeer by applying a distinctly different permanent earmark or tattoo on all imported reindeer; and
- (2) Register the earmark or tattoo with the State Division of Agriculture book of livestock brand marks.

§ 243.6 Which sales or transfers of Alaskan reindeer do not require a permit?

The following transfers do not require a permit:

- (a) Sale or transfer by Alaska Natives of dead reindeer or reindeer products; and
- (b) Sale of transfer of live reindeer between Alaska Natives or Native reindeer organizations.

§ 243.7 How can a non-Native acquire live reindeer?

If you are a non-Native who wants to acquire live Alaskan reindeer, you must apply to us in writing. We will either grant the request and issue a written permit valid for 90 days or reject the request and give our reasons in writing. Any transfer that we authorize is subject to the following conditions:

- (a) The transfer must meet the requirements of the Act and this part.
- (b) Within 30 days of transfer, you must either butcher the reindeer in Alaska or ship them out of Alaska. If you ship the reindeer out alive:
- (1) You must comply with all Federal and State animal health regulations governing transfers and shipments; and
- (2) The reindeer and their descendants must never be brought back to Alaska alive.
- (c) Within 30 days of the transfer, you must report to us the actual number of reindeer shipped out or slaughtered.

§ 243.8 What penalties apply to violations of this part?

If you are a non-Native transferee of live Alaskan reindeer who violates the provisions of this part, you are subject to the penalties in this section.

- (a) Under 25 U.S.C. 500i, you can be fined up to \$5000.00 if you:
- (1) Take possession of reindeer without a permit issued under §243.7; or
- (2) Do not abide by the terms of a permit issued under §243.7 (including the requirement that you slaughter or export the reindeer within 30 days and not bring them back alive into Alaska).
- (b) Under 25 U.S.C. 500b, you are barred from asserting your title to the reindeer if you:
- (1) Do not obtain a transfer permit from us and fully comply with its terms; or
- (2) Fail to file with us a claim of title to reindeer within 30 days of acquiring them

§ 243.9 Who may inherit live Alaskan reindeer and by what means?

- (a) Privately-owned live Alaskan reindeer may pass to the deceased owner's Native heirs by descent or devise.
- (b) In the event of the death of an owner of Alaskan reindeer, any direct