comply only with the minimum requirements for operation between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m., local time.

(2) *TV stations*. (i) During the first 36 months of operation, not less than 2 hours daily in any 5 broadcast days per calendar week and not less than a total of:

(A) 12 hours per week during the first 18 months.

(B) 16 hours per week during the 19th through 24th months.

(C) 20 hours per week during the 25th through 30th months.

(D) 24 hours per week during the 31st through 36th months.

(ii) After 36 months of operation, not less than 2 hours in each day of the week and not less than a total of 28 hours per calendar week.

(iii) Visual transmissions of test patterns, slides, or still pictures accompanied by unrelated aural transmissions may not be counted in computing program service (see § 73.653).

(3) "Operation" includes the period during which the station is operated pursuant to temporary authorization or program tests, as well as during the license period.

(4) In the event that causes beyond the control of a licensee make it impossible to adhere to the operating schedule of this section or to continue operating, the station may limit or discontinue operation for a period of not more than 30 days without further authority from the FCC. Notification must be sent to the FCC in Washington, D.C. not later than the 10th day of limited or discontinued operation. During such period, the licensee shall continue to adhere to the requirements in the station license pertaining to the lighting of antenna structures. In the event normal operation is restored prior to the expiration of the 30 day period, the licensee will so notify the FCC of this date. If the causes beyond the control of the licensee make it impossible to comply within the allowed period, informal written request shall be made to the FCC no later than the 30th day for such additional time as may be deemed necessary.

(5) Class A TV stations. Not less than 18 hours in each day of the week.

(b) Noncommercial educational AM and TV stations are not required to op-

47 CFR Ch. I (10–1–10 Edition)

erate on a regular schedule and no minimum hours of operation are specified; but the hours of actual operation during a license period shall be taken into consideration in the renewal of noncommercial educational AM and TV broadcast licenses. Noncommercial educational FM stations are subject to the operating schedule requirements according to the provisions of §73.561.

(c) The license of any broadcasting station that fails to transmit broadcast signals for any consecutive 12-month period expires as a matter of law at the end of that period, notwithstanding any provision, term, or condition of the license to the contrary.

[43 FR 45850, Oct. 4, 1978, as amended at 53 FR 1032, Jan. 15, 1988; 56 FR 64873, Dec. 12, 1991;
61 FR 28767, June 6, 1996; 65 FR 30006, May 10, 2000]

§73.1745 Unauthorized operation.

(a) No broadcast station shall operate at times, or with modes or power, other than those specified and made a part of the license, unless otherwise provided in this part.

(b) Any unauthorized departure from an operating schedule which is required to be filed with the FCC in Washington, DC, will be considered as a violation of a material term of the license.

[43 FR 45850, Oct. 4, 1978]

§73.1750 Discontinuance of operation.

The licensee of each station shall notify by letter the FCC in Washington, DC, Attention: Audio Division (radio) or Video Division (television), Media Bureau, of the permanent discontinuance of operation at least two days before operation is discontinued. Immediately after discontinuance of operation, the licensee shall forward the station license and other instruments of authorization to the FCC, Attention: Audio Division (radio) or Video Division (television), Media Bureau, for cancellation. The license of any station that fails to transmit broadcast signals for any consecutive 12 month period expires as a matter of law at the end of that period, notwithstanding any provision, term, or condition of the license to the contrary. If a licensee surrenders its license pursuant to an interference reduction agreement, and its

Federal Communications Commission

surrender is contingent on the grant of another application, the licensee must identify in its notification the contingencies involved.

[67 FR 13233, Mar. 21, 2002]

§ 73.1800 General requirements related to the station log.

(a) The licensee of each station must maintain a station log as required by §73.1820. This log shall be kept by station employees competent to do so, having actual knowledge of the facts required. All entries, whether required or not by the provisions of this part, must accurately reflect the station operation. Any employee making a log entry shall sign the log, thereby attesting to the fact that the entry, or any correction or addition made thereto, is an accurate representation of what transpired.

(b) The logs shall be kept in an orderly and legible manner, in suitable form and in such detail that the data required for the particular class of station concerned are readily available. Key letters or abbreviations may be used if the proper meaning or explanation is contained elsewhere in the log. Each sheet must be numbered and dated. Time entries must be made in local time and must be indicated as advanced (e.g., EDT) or non-advanced (e.g., EST) time.

(c) Any necessary corrections of a manually kept log after it has been signed in accordance with paragraph (a) of this section shall be made only by striking out the erroneous portion and making a corrective explanation on the log or attachment to it. Such corrections shall be dated and signed by the person who kept the log or the station chief operator, the station manager or an officer of the licensee.

(d) No automatically kept log shall be altered in any way after entries have been recorded. When automatic logging processes fail or malfunction, the log must be kept manually for that period and in accordance with the requirements of this section.

(e) No log, or portion thereof, shall be erased, obliterated or willfully destroyed during the period in which it is required to be retained. (Section 73.1840, Retention of logs.) (f) Application forms for licenses and other authorizations may require that certain technical operating data be supplied. These application forms should be kept in mind in connection with the maintenance of the station log.

[43 FR 45850, Oct. 4, 1978, as amended at 48 FR 38481, Aug. 24, 1983; 48 FR 44806, Sept. 30, 1983; 49 FR 14509, Apr. 12, 1984; 49 FR 33663, Aug. 24, 1984; 50 FR 40016, Oct. 1, 1985]

§73.1820 Station log.

(a) Entries must be made in the station log either manually by a person designated by the licensee who is in actual charge of the transmitting apparatus, or by automatic devices meeting the requirements of paragraph (b) of this section. Indications of operating parameters that are required to be logged must be logged prior to any adjustment of the equipment. Where adjustments are made to restore parameters to their proper operating values, the corrected indications must be logged and accompanied, if any parameter deviation was beyond a prescribed tolerance, by a notation describing the nature of the corrective action. Indications of all parameters whose values are affected by the modulation of the carrier must be read without modulation. The actual time of observation must be included in each log entry. The following information must be entered:

(1) All stations. (i) Entries required by §17.49 of this chapter concerning any observed or otherwise known extinguishment or improper functioning of a tower light:

(A) The nature of such extinguishment or improper functioning.

(B) The date and time the extinguishment or improper operation was observed or otherwise noted.

(C) The date, time and nature of adjustments, repairs or replacements made.

(ii) Any entries not specifically required in this section, but required by the instrument of authorization or elsewhere in this part.

(iii) An entry of each test and activation of the Emergency Alert System (EAS) pursuant to the requirement of part 11 of this chapter and the EAS Operating Handbook. Stations may keep EAS data in a special EAS log which