§ 660.303

species group, by weight, or by percentage of weight of legal fish on board, that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed per vessel from a single fishing trip.

- (2) A daily trip limit is the maximum amount of a groundfish species or species group that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed per vessel in 24 consecutive hours, starting at 0001 hours local time (l.t.) Only one landing of groundfish may be made in that 24-hour period. Daily trip limits may not be accumulated during multiple day trips.
- (3) A weekly trip limit is the maximum amount of a groundfish species or species group that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed per vessel in 7 consecutive days, starting at 0001 hours l.t. on Sunday and ending at 2400 hours l.t. on Saturday. Weekly trip limits may not be accumulated during multiple week trips. If a calendar week falls within two different months or two different cumulative limit periods, a vessel is not entitled to two separate weekly limits during that week.
- (4) A cumulative trip limit is the maximum amount of a groundfish species or species group that may be taken and retained, possessed, or landed per vessel in a specified period of time without a limit on the number of landings or trips, unless otherwise specified. The cumulative trip limit periods for limited entry and open access fisheries, which start at 0001 hours l.t. and end at 2400 hours l.t., are as follows, unless otherwise specified:
- (i) The 2-month or "major" cumulative limit periods are: January 1-February 28/29, March 1-April 30, May 1-June 30, July 1-August 31, September 1-October 31, and, November 1-December 31.
- (ii) One month means the first day through the last day of the calendar month.
- (iii) One week means 7 consecutive days, Sunday through Saturday.

Vessel manager means a person or group of persons whom the vessel owner has given authority to oversee all or a portion of groundfish fishing activities aboard the vessel.

Vessel monitoring system or VMS means a vessel monitoring system or mobile transceiver unit as set forth in

§660.312 and approved by NMFS for use on vessels that take (directly or incidentally) species managed under the Pacific Coast Groundfish FMP, as required by this subpart.

Vessel of the United States or U.S. vessel. (See § 600.10).

[61 FR 34572, July 2, 1996]

EDITORIAL NOTE: For FEDERAL REGISTER citations affecting §660.302, see the List of CFR Sections Affected, which appears in the Finding Aids section of the printed volume and on GPO Access.

§ 660.303 Reporting and recordkeeping.

- (a) This subpart recognizes that catch and effort data necessary for implementing the PCGFMP are collected by the States of Washington, Oregon, and California under existing state data collection requirements.
- (b) Any person who is required to do so by the applicable state law must make and/or file, retain, or make available any and all reports (i.e., logbooks, fish tickets, etc.) of groundfish harvests and landings containing all data, and in the exact manner, required by the applicable state law.
- (c) Any person landing groundfish must retain on board the vessel from which groundfish is landed, and provide to an authorized officer upon request, copies of any and all reports of groundfish landings containing all data, and in the exact manner, required by the applicable state law throughout the cumulative limit period during which a landing occurred and for 15 days thereafter. For participants in the primary sablefish season (detailed §660.372(b)), the cumulative limit period to which this requirement applies is April 1 through October 31 or, for an individual permit holder, when that permit holder's tier limit is attained, whichever is earlier.
- (d) Declaration reporting requirements—(1) Declaration reports for vessels registered to limited entry permits. The operator of any vessel registered to a limited entry permit must provide NMFS OLE with a declaration report, as specified at paragraph (d)(5)(iv) of this section, before the vessel leaves port on a trip in which the vessel is

used to fish in U.S. ocean waters between 0 and 200 nm offshore of Washington, Oregon, or California.

- (2) Declaration reports for all vessels using non-groundfish trawl gear. The operator of any vessel that is not registered to a limited entry permit and which uses non-groundfish trawl gear to fish in the EEZ (3–200 nm offshore), must provide NMFS OLE with a declaration report, as specified at paragraph (d)(5)(iv) of this section, before the vessel leaves port to fish in the EEZ.
- (3) Declaration reports for open access vessels using non-trawl gear (all types of open access gear other than non-ground-fish trawl gear). The operator of any vessel that is not registered to a limited entry permit, must provide NMFS with a declaration report, as specified at paragraph (d)(5)(iv) of this section, before the vessel leaves port on a trip in which the vessel is used to take and retain or possess groundfish in the EEZ or land groundfish taken in the EEZ.
- (4) Declaration reports for tribal vessels using trawl gear. The operator of any tribal vessel using trawl gear must provide NMFS with a declaration report, as specified at paragraph (d)(5)(iv) of this section, before the vessel leaves port on a trip in which fishing occurs within the trawl RCA.
 - (5) Declaration reports.
- (i) The operator of a vessel specified in paragraphs (d)(1), (d)(2), and (d)(3) of this section must provide a declaration report to NMFS OLE prior to leaving port on the first trip in which the vessel meets the requirement specified at §660.312 (b) to have a VMS.
- (ii) The vessel operator must send a new declaration report before leaving port on a trip in which a gear type that is different from the gear type most recently declared for the vessel will be used. A declaration report will be valid until another declaration report revising the existing gear declaration is received by NMFS OLE.
- (iii) During the period of time that a vessel has a valid declaration report on file with NMFS OLE, it cannot fish with a gear other than a gear type declared by the vessel.
- (iv) Declaration reports will include: the vessel name and/or identification number, and gear type (as defined in

paragraph (d)(5)(iv)(A) of this section). Upon receipt of a declaration report, NMFS will provide a confirmation code or receipt to confirm that a valid declaration report was received for the vessel. Retention of the confirmation code or receipt to verify that a valid declaration report was filed and the declaration requirement was met is the responsibility of the vessel owner or operator. Vessels using non-trawl gear may declare more than one gear type, however, vessels using trawl gear may only declare one of the trawl gear types listed in paragraph (d)(5)(iv)(A)of this section on any trip and may not declare non-trawl gear on the same trip in which trawl gear is declared.

- (A) One of the following gear types must be declared:
 - (1) Limited entry fixed gear,
 - (2) [Reserved]
 - (3) Limited entry midwater trawl,
- (4) Limited entry bottom trawl, not including demersal trawl,
 - (5) Limited entry demersal trawl,
- (6) Non-groundfish trawl gear for pink shrimp,
- (7) Non-groundfish trawl gear for ridgeback prawn,
- (δ) Non-groundfish trawl gear for California halibut,
- (9) Non-groundfish trawl gear for sea cucumber.
- (10) Open access longline gear for groundfish,
- (11) Open access Pacific halibut longline gear,
- (12) Open access groundfish trap or pot gear,
- (13) Open access Dungeness crab trap or pot gear.
- (14) Open access prawn trap or pot gear,
- (15) Open access sheephead trap or pot gear,
- (16) Open access line gear for ground-
 - (17) Open access HMS line gear,
 - (18) Open access salmon troll gear,
- (19) Open access California Halibut line gear,
 - (20) Open access net gear,
 - (21) Other gear, and (22) Tribal trawl.
 - (22) TT10a1 trav
 - (B) [Reserved]
- (e) Participants in the Pacific whiting shoreside fishery. Reporting requirements defined in the following section

§ 660.305

are in addition to reporting requirements under applicable state law and requirements described at § 660.303(b).

- (1) Reporting requirements for any Pacific whiting shoreside first receiver—(i) Responsibility for compliance. The Pacific whiting shoreside first receiver is responsible for compliance with all reporting requirements described in this paragraph.
- (ii) General requirements. All records or reports required by this paragraph must: be maintained in English, be accurate, be legible, be based on local time, and be submitted in a timely manner as required in paragraph (e)(1)(iv) of this section.
- (iii) Required information. All Pacific whiting shoreside first receivers must provide the following types of information: date of landing, Pacific whiting shoreside vessel that made the delivery, gear type used, first receiver, round weights of species landed listed by species or species group including species with no value, number of salmon by species, number of Pacific habibut, and any other information deemed necessary by the Regional Administrator as specified on the appropriate electronic fish ticket form.
- (iv) Electronic fish ticket submissions. The Pacific whiting shoreside first receiver must:
- (A) Sort all fish, prior to first weighing, by species or
- species groups as specified at §660.370 (b)(6)(iii)
- (B) Include as part of each electronic fish ticket submission, the actual scale weight for each groundfish species as specified by requirements at \$660.373 (j)(2)(i) and the Pacific whiting shoreside vessel identification number.
- (C) Use for the purpose of submitting electronic fish tickets, and maintain in good working order, computer equipment as specified at §660.373 (i)(2)(ii)(A):
- (D) Install, use, and update as necessary, any NMFS-approved software described at §660.373 (j)(2)(ii)(B);
- (E) Submit a completed electronic fish ticket for every landing that includes 4,000 lb (1,814 kg) or more of Pacific whiting (round weight equivalent) no later than 24 hours after the date the fish are received, unless a waiver of this requirement has been granted

under provisions specified at paragraph (e)(1) (vii) of this section.

(v) Revising a submitted electronic fish ticket submission. In the event that a data error is found, electronic fish ticket submissions may be revised by resubmitting the revised form. Electronic fish tickets are to be used for the submission of final data. Preliminary data, including estimates of fish weights or species composition, shall not be submitted on electronic fish tickets

(vi) Retention of records. [Reserved]

(vii) Waivers for submission of electronic fish tickets upon written request. On a case-by-case basis, a temporary written waiver of the requirement to submit electronic fish tickets may be granted by the Assistant Regional Administrator or designee if he/she determines that circumstances beyond the control of a Pacific whiting shoreside first receiver would result in inadequate data submissions using the electronic fish ticket system. The duration of the waiver will be determined on a case-by-case basis.

(viii) Reporting requirements when a temporary waiver has been granted. Pacific whiting shoreside first receivers that have been granted a temporary waiver from the requirement to submit electronic fish tickets must submit on paper the same data as is required on electronic fish tickets within 24 hours of the date received during the period that the waiver is in effect. Paper fish tickets must be sent by facsimile to NMFS. Northwest Region. Sustainable Fisheries Division, 206-526-6736 or by delivering it in person to 7600 Sand Point Way NE, Seattle, WA 98115. The requirements for submissions of paper tickets in this paragraph are separate from, and in addition to existing state requirements for landing receipts or fish receiving tickets.

(2) [Reserved]

[68 FR 62381, Nov. 4, 2003, as amended at 69 FR 11124, Mar. 9, 2004; 69 FR 31755, June 7, 2004; 69 FR 42348, July 15, 2004; 71 FR 10620, Mar. 2, 2006; 72 FR 50910, Sept. 5, 2007; 72 FR 69168, Dec. 7, 2007; 74 FR 9886, Mar. 6, 20091

§ 660.305 Vessel identification.

(a) Display. The operator of a vessel that is over 25 ft (7.6 m) in length and is engaged in commercial fishing for