# SUBCHAPTER I—ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS

# PARTS 2000-2002 [RESERVED]

# PART 2003—ORGANIZATION

#### Subpart A—Functional Organization of the Rural Development Mission Area

Sec.

2003.1 Definitions.

2003.2 General.

2003.3-2003.4 [Reserved]

2003.5 Headquarters organization.

2003.6 Office of the Under Secretary.

2003.7-2003.9 [Reserved]

2003.10 Rural Development State Offices.

2003.11-2003.13 [Reserved]

2003.14 Field Offices.

2003.15-2003.16 [Reserved]

2003.17 Availability of information.

2003.18 Functional organization of RHS.

2003.19-2003.21 [Reserved]

2003.22 Functional organization of RUS.

2003.23-2003.25 [Reserved]

2003.26 Functional organization of RBS. 2003.27-2003.50 [Reserved]

AUTHORITY: 5 U.S.C. 301; 7 U.S.C. 6941; and 7 CFR 2.17.

SOURCE: 62 FR 67259, Dec. 24, 1997, unless otherwise noted.

## Subpart A—Functional Organization of the Rural Development Mission Area

### §2003.1 Definitions.

*EEO*—the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, 42 U.S.C. §2000e *et* seq.

*O&M*—Operations and Management. *P&P*—Policy and Planning.

*RBS*—Rural Business-Cooperative Development Service, USDA, or any successor agency.

*RHS*—Rural Housing Service, USDA, or any successor agency.

*RTB*—Rural Telephone Bank authorized by 7 U.S.C. 944.

*Rural Development*—Rural Development mission area of USDA.

*RUS*—Rural Utilities Service, USDA, or any successor agency.

Secretary-the Secretary of USDA.

USDA—the United States Department of Agriculture.

§2003.2 General.

The Rural Development mission area of the Department of Agriculture was established as a result of the Department of Agriculture Reorganization Act of 1994, Title II of Pub.L. 103-354. Rural Development's basic organization consists of Headquarters in Washington, D.C. and 47 State Offices. Headquarters maintains overall planning, coordination, and control of Rural Development agency programs. Administrators head RHS, RBS, and RUS under the direction of the Under Secretary for Rural Development. State Directors head the State Offices and are directly responsible to the Under Secretary for the execution of all Rural Development agency programs within the boundaries of their states.

#### §§ 2003.3-2003.4 [Reserved]

#### §2003.5 Headquarters organization.

(a) The Rural Development Headquarters is comprised of:

The Office of the Under Secretary;
Two Deputy Under Secretaries; and,

(3) Three Administrators and their staffs.

(b) The Rural Development Headquarters is located at 1400 Independence Avenue, SW., Washington, DC. 20250-0700

#### § 2003.6 Office of the Under Secretary.

In accordance with 7 CFR §2.17 the Secretary has delegated to the Under Secretary, Rural Development, authority to manage and administer programs and support functions of the Rural Development mission area.

(a) Office of the Deputy Under Secretary for P&P. This office is headed by the Deputy Under Secretary for P&P. The Under Secretary, Rural Development, has delegated to the Deputy Under Secretary for P&P, responsibility for formulation and development of short-and long-range rural development policies of the Department in accordance with 7 CFR §2.45. The Deputy Under Secretary for P&P reports directly to the Under Secretary, Rural