Federal Highway Administration, DOT

before January 1 of each year that it is obtaining proof-of-payment of the heavy vehicle use tax as a condition of registration in accordance with 23 U.S.C. 141(c). The certification shall cover the 12-month period ending September 30, except for the certification due on January 1, 2011, which shall cover the 4-month period from June 1, 2010 to September 30, 2010.

[75 FR 43409, July 26, 2010]

§669.9 Certification content.

The certification shall consist of the following elements:

(a) A statement by the Governor of the state or a state official designated by the Governor, that evidence of payment of the heavy vehicle use tax is being obtained as a condition of registration for all vehicles subject to such tax. The statement shall include the inclusive dates of the period during which payment of the heavy vehicle use tax was verified as a condition of registration.

(b) The certifying statement required by paragraph (a) of this section shall be worded as follows:

I (name of certifying official), (position, title), of the State of (), do hereby certify that evidence of payment of the heavy vehicle use tax pursuant to section 4481 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, is being obtained as a condition of registration for vehicles subject to such tax in accordance with 23 U.S.C. 141(c) and applicable IRS rules. This certification is for the period () to ().

(c) For the initial certification, submit a copy of any state law or regulation pertaining to the implementation of 23 U.S.C. 141(c); for subsequent certifications, submit a copy of any new or revised laws and regulations pertaining to the implementation of 23 U.S.C. 141(c).

[51 FR 25364, July 14, 1986, as amended at 75 FR 43409, July 26, 2010]

§669.11 Certification submittal.

The Governor or an official designated by the Governor, shall each year submit the certification, including the supporting material specified in 669.9 to the FHWA Division Administrator prior to January 1.

[51 FR 25364, July 14, 1986, as amended at 75 FR 43409, July 26, 2010]

§669.13 Effect of failure to certify or to adequately obtain proof-of-payment.

If a State fails to certify as required by this regulation or if the Secretary of Transportation determines that a State is not adequately obtaining proof-of-payment of the heavy vehicle use tax as a condition of registration notwithstanding the State's certification, Federal-aid highway funds apportioned to the State under 23 U.S.C. 104(b)(4) for the next fiscal year shall be reduced in an amount up to 25 percent as determined by the Secretary.

[75 FR 43409, July 26, 2010]

§669.15 Procedure for the reduction of funds.

(a) Each fiscal year, each State determined to be in nonconformity with the requirements of this part will be advised of the funds expected to be withheld from apportionment in accordance with 669.13 and 23 U.S.C. 141(c), as part of the advance notice of apportionments required under 23 U.S.C. 104(e), normally not later than 90 days prior to final apportionment.

(b) A State that received a notice in accordance with paragraph (a) of this section may within 30 days of its receipt of the advance notice of apportionments, submit documentation showing why it is in conformity with this Part. Documentation shall be submitted to the Federal Highway Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE., Washington, DC 20590.

(c) Each fiscal year, each State determined to be in nonconformity with the requirements of this part and 23 U.S.C. 141(c), based on FHWA's final determination, will receive notice of the funds being withheld from apportionment pursuant to section 669.3 and 23 U.S.C. 141(c), as part of the certification of apportionments required under 23 U.S.C. 104(e), which normally occurs on October 1 of each fiscal year.

[75 FR 43409, July 26, 2010]