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of the vessel transfer all of his or her 
ownership in the vessel; or 

(3) The vessel is destroyed or aban-
doned. 

(c) A certificate of number issued by 
an issuing authority is invalid if: 

(1) The application for the certificate 
of number contains a false or fraudu-
lent statement; or 

(2) The fees for the issuance of the 
certificate of number are not paid. 

(d) A certificate of number is invalid 
60 days after the day on which the ves-
sel is no longer principally operated in 
the State where the certificate was 
issued. 

(e) The certificate of number is in-
valid when the person whose name ap-
pears on the certificate involuntarily 
loses his or her interest in the num-
bered vessel by legal process. 

[CGD 72–54R, 37 FR 21399, Oct. 7, 1972, as 
amended by USCG–2003–15404, 68 FR 37742, 
June 25, 2003; USCG–2003–14963, 77 FR 18701, 
Mar. 28, 2012] 

§ 173.79 Expiration of Coast Guard cer-
tificate of number. 

A certificate of number issued by the 
Coast Guard expires 3 years from the 
date it is issued. 

§ 173.81 Coast Guard forms for num-
bering and casualty reporting. 

(a) In a State where the Coast Guard 
is the issuing authority, the following 
Coast Guard forms must be used: 

(1) Each application for a certificate 
of number or renewal must be made on 
two-part Form CG–3876 and 3876A, Ap-
plication for Number and Temporary 
Certificate. 

(2) Each notification required by 
§ 173.29(b) must be made on Form CG– 
2921, Notification of Change in Status 
of Vessel. 

(3) Each notification required by 
§ 173.29(a) must be made on Form CG– 
3920, Change of Address Notice. 

(4) Each notification required by 
§ 173.29(c) must be made in writing. 

(5) Each application for a duplicate 
certificate of number must be made on 
two-part Form CG–3919 and CG–3919A, 
Application for Duplicate Certificate of 
Number and Temporary Duplicate Cer-
tificate. 

(6) Each vessel casualty required to 
be reported by § 173.55 must be made on 
Form CG–3865. 

(b) Each surrender of a certificate of 
number required by § 173.31 may be 
made in any form but must contain a 
written statement as to why the cer-
tificate is being surrendered. 

§ 173.83 Availability of Coast Guard 
forms. 

In a State where the Coast Guard is 
the issuing authority, forms required 
by § 173.81 are available at all manned 
Coast Guard shore units, except light 
and loran stations and except for Form 
CG–3865, at all first- and second-class 
and some third- and fourth-class post 
offices. 

§ 173.85 Fees levied by the Coast 
Guard. 

(a) In a State where the Coast Guard 
is the issuing authority, the fees for 
issuing certificates of number are: 

(1) Original or transferred certificate 
of number and two validation stick-
ers—$24. 

(2) Renewed certificate of number 
and two validation stickers—$16. 

(3) Duplicate certificate of number— 
$9. 

(4) Replacement of lost or destroyed 
validation stickers—$9. 

(b) Fees are payable by check or 
money-order made payable to the ‘‘U.S. 
Coast Guard’’; by major credit card 
(MasterCard or Visa); or, when the 
owner applies in person, in cash. 

[USCG–1998–3386, 64 FR 36243, July 6, 1999] 

APPENDIX A TO PART 173—ISSUING AU-
THORITIES AND REPORTING AUTHORI-
TIES 

(a) The State is the issuing authority and 
reporting authority in: 

STATE 

Alabama—AL. 
Alaska—AK. 
American Samoa— 

AS. 
Arizona—AZ. 
Arkansas—AR. 
California—CF. 
Colorado—CL. 
Connecticut—CT. 
Delaware—DL. 
District of Colum- 

bia—DC. 
Florida—FL. 
Georgia—GA. 
Guam—GU. 
Hawaii—HA. 
Idaho—ID. 
Illinois—IL. 
Indiana—IN. 
Iowa—IA. 
Kansas—KA. 
Kentucky—KY. 
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Louisiana—LA. 
Maine—ME. 
Maryland—MD. 
Massachusetts—MS. 
Michigan—MC. 
Minnesota—MN. 
Mississippi—MI. 
Missouri—MO. 
Montana—MT. 
Nebraska—NB. 
Nevada—NV. 
New Hampshire—NH. 
New Jersey—NJ. 
New Mexico—NM. 
New York—NY. 
North Carolina—NC. 
North Dakota—ND. 
Northern Mariana 

Islands—CM. 

Ohio—OH. 
Oklahoma—OK. 
Oregon—OR. 
Pennsylvania—PA. 
Puerto Rico—PR. 
Rhode Island—RI. 
South Carolina—SC. 
South Dakota—SD. 
Tennessee—TN. 
Texas—TX. 
Utah—UT. 
Vermont—VT. 
Virginia—VA. 
Virgin Islands—VI. 
Washington—WN. 
West Virginia—WV. 
Wisconsin—WS. 
Wyoming—WY. 

(b) The Coast Guard is the issuing author-
ity and reporting authority in: 

STATE 

[Reserved] 
(c) The abbreviations following the names 

of the State listed in paragraphs (a) and (b) 
are the two capital letters that must be used 
in the number format to denote the State of 
principal operation as prescribed in § 174.23 of 
this chapter. 

[CGD 72–54R, 37 FR 21399, Oct. 7, 1972, as 
amended by CGD 76–076, 41 FR 23401, June 10, 
1976; CGD 89–048, 54 FR 27002, June 27, 1989; 
USCG–2001–9286, 66 FR 33642, June 25, 2001; 
USCG–2003–14963, 77 FR 18701, Mar. 28, 2012] 

PART 174—STATE NUMBERING AND 
CASUALTY REPORTING SYSTEMS 

Subpart A—General 

Sec. 
174.1 Applicability; preemptive effect. 
174.3 Definitions. 
174.5 Requirements for approval. 
174.7 Approval procedure. 

Subpart B—Numbering System 
Requirements 

174.11 Applicability of State numbering sys-
tem. 

174.13 Owner or operator requirements. 
174.14 State numbering system optional sec-

tions. 
174.15 Validation stickers. 
174.16 Verification of hull identification 

numbers (HINs). 
174.17 Contents of application for certificate 

of number. 
174.19 Contents of a certificate of number. 
174.21 Temporary certificates. 
174.23 Form of number. 
174.25 Size of certificate of number. 
174.27 Duration of certificate of number. 

174.29 Temporary certificate of number. 
174.31 Terms imposed by States for num-

bering of vessels. 

Subpart C—Casualty Reporting System 
Requirements 

174.101 Applicability of State casualty re-
porting system. 

174.103 Administration. 
174.105 Owner or operator casualty report-

ing requirements. 
174.106 State casualty reporting system op-

tional sections. 
174.107 Contents of casualty or accident re-

port form. 

Subpart D—State Reports 

174.121 Forwarding of casualty or accident 
reports. 

174.123 Annual report of numbered vessels. 
174.125 Coast Guard address. 

AUTHORITY: 46 U.S.C. 6101 and 12302; De-
partment of Homeland Security Delegation 
No. 0170.1 (92). 

SOURCE: CGD 72–54R, 37 FR 21402, Oct. 7, 
1972, unless otherwise noted. 

Subpart A—General 
§ 174.1 Applicability; preemptive ef-

fect. 
This part establishes a standard 

numbering system for vessels and a 
uniform vessel casualty reporting sys-
tem for vessels by prescribing require-
ments applicable to the States for the 
approval of State numbering systems. 
The regulations in subparts A, B, and D 
of this part have preemptive effect over 
conflicting State or local regulation. 
The regulations in subpart C of this 
part have preemptive effect over State 
or local regulation within the same 
field, except to the extent that Con-
gress requires the Coast Guard to allow 
State casualty reporting systems pur-
suant to 46 U.S.C. chapter 131. 

[USCG–2003–14963, 77 FR 18701, Mar. 28, 2012] 

§ 174.3 Definitions. 
As used in this part— 
Airboat means a vessel that is typi-

cally flat-bottomed and propelled by an 
aircraft-type propeller powered by an 
engine. 

Auxiliary sail means a vessel with sail 
as its primary method of propulsion 
and mechanical propulsion as its sec-
ondary method. 
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