§62.15130

GOOD COMBUSTION PRACTICES: OPERATOR CERTIFICATION

§ 62.15130 What types of operator certification must the chief facility operator and shift supervisor obtain and by when must they obtain it?

(a) Each chief facility operator and shift supervisor must obtain and maintain a current provisional operator certification from either the American Society of Mechanical Engineers QRO-1-1994 or a State certification program in Connecticut and Maryland (if the affected facility is located in either of the respective States). If ASME certification is chosen, proceed in accordance with ASME QRO-1-1994. Standard for the Qualification and Certification of Resource Recovery Facility Operators. The Director of the Federal Register approves this incorporation by reference in accordance with 5 U.S.C.552(a) and 1 CFR part 51. You may obtain a copy from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Service Center, 22 Law Drive, Post Office Box 2900, Fairfield, NJ 07007. You may inspect a copy at the Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards Air Docket, EPA, 109 T.W. Alexander Drive, Room C521C, RTP, NC 27709 or at the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). For information on the availability of this material at NARA, call 202-741-6030, or go to: http:// www.archives.gov/federal register/ code of federal regulations/

ibr locations.html.

(b) Each chief facility operator and shift supervisor must obtain a provisional certification by the later of three dates:

(1) For Class I units, 12 months after the effective date of this subpart. For Class II units, 18 months after the effective date of this subpart.

(2) Six months after the municipal waste combustion unit starts up.

(3) Six months after they transfer to the municipal waste combustion unit or 6 months after they are hired to work at the municipal waste combustion unit.

(c) Each chief facility operator and shift supervisor must take one of two actions:

40 CFR Ch. I (7–1–14 Edition)

(1) Obtain a full certification from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

(2) Schedule a full certification exam with the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (QRO-1-1994 (incorporated by reference in §60.17 of subpart A of 40 CFR part 60)).

(d) The chief facility operator and shift supervisor must obtain the full certification or be scheduled to take the certification exam by the later of the following dates:

(1) For Class I units, 12 months after the effective date of this subpart. For Class II units, 18 months after the effective date of this subpart.

(2) Six months after the municipal waste combustion unit starts up.

(3) Six months after they transfer to the municipal waste combustion unit or 6 months after they are hired to work at the municipal waste combustion unit.

[68 FR 5158, Jan. 31, 2003, as amended at 69 FR 18803, Apr. 9, 2004]

§62.15135 After the required date for operator certification, who may operate the municipal waste combustion unit?

After the required date for full or provisional certification, you must not operate your municipal waste combustion unit unless one of four employees is on duty:

(a) A fully certified chief facility operator.

(b) A provisionally certified chief facility operator who is scheduled to take the full certification exam.

(c) A fully certified shift supervisor.

(d) A provisionally certified shift supervisor who is scheduled to take the full certification exam.

§62.15140 What if all the certified operators must be temporarily offsite?

If the certified chief facility operator and certified shift supervisor both are unavailable, a provisionally certified control room operator at the municipal waste combustion unit may fulfill the certified operator requirement. Depending on the length of time that a certified chief facility operator and certified shift supervisor is away, you must meet one of three criteria: