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1 See footnote 1 to § 11.1. 

Horses or racking horses shall furnish 
to any APHIS representative, upon re-
quest, the name and address (including 
street address, or post office box, and 
ZIP code) of the person designated by 
the sponsoring organization or man-
ager to maintain the records required 
by this section. 

(d) The Administrator may, in spe-
cific cases, require that a horse show, 
horse exhibition, or horse sale or auc-
tion records be maintained by manage-
ment for a period in excess of 90 days. 

(Approved by the Office of Management and 
Budget under control numbers 0579–0056, and 
0579–0058) 

(44 U.S.C. 3506) 

[44 FR 25179, Apr. 27, 1979, as amended at 48 
FR 57471, Dec. 30, 1983. Redesignated at 55 FR 
41993, Oct. 17, 1990; 56 FR 13750, Apr. 4, 1991] 

§ 11.23 Inspection of records. 
(a) The management of any horse 

show, horse exhibition, or horse sale or 
auction shall permit any APHIS rep-
resentative, upon request, to examine 
and make copies of any and all records 
pertaining to any horse, either re-
quired in any part of the regulations, 
or otherwise maintained, during ordi-
nary business hours or such other 
times as may be mutually agreed upon. 
A room, table, or other facilities nec-
essary for proper examination of such 
records shall be made available to the 
APHIS representative. 

(b) Horse industry organizations or 
associations who train, maintain, and 
license DQP’s under a certified DQP 
program shall permit any APHIS rep-
resentative, upon request, to examine 
and copy any and all records relating 
to the DQP program which are required 
by any part of the regulations. Such re-
quests shall be made during ordinary 
business hours or such other times as 
mutually agreed upon. A room, table or 
other facilities necessary for proper ex-
amination shall be made available 
upon the request of the APHIS rep-
resentative. 

[44 FR 25179, Apr. 27, 1979. Redesignated at 55 
FR 41993, Oct. 17, 1990, as amended at 56 FR 
13750, Apr. 4, 1991] 

§ 11.24 Reporting by management. 
(a) Within 5 days following the con-

clusion of any horse show, horse exhi-

bition, or horse sale or auction, con-
taining Tennessee Walking Horses or 
racking horses, the managements of 
such show, exhibition, sale or auction 
shall submit to the Regional Director 1 
for the State in which the show, exhi-
bition, sale or auction was held, the in-
formation required by § 11.22(a)(1) 
through (6) for each horse excused or 
disqualified by management or its rep-
resentatives from being shown, exhib-
ited, sold or auctioned, and the reasons 
for such action. If no horses are ex-
cused or disqualified, the management 
shall submit a report so stating. 

(b) Within 5 days following the con-
clusion of any horse show, horse exhi-
bition, or horse sale or auction which 
does not contain Tennessee Walking 
Horses or racking horses, the manage-
ment of such show, exhibition, sale or 
auction shall inform the Regional Di-
rector for the State in which the show, 
exhibition, sale or auction was held, of 
any case where a horse was excused or 
disqualified by management or its rep-
resentatives from being shown, exhib-
ited, sold or auctioned because it was 
found to be sore. 

(Approved by the Office of Management and 
Budget under control number 0579–0056) 

[44 FR 25179, Apr. 27, 1979, as amended at 48 
FR 57471, Dec. 30, 1983; 55 FR 41994, Oct. 17, 
1990; 56 FR 13750, Apr. 4, 1991; 63 FR 62927, 
Nov. 10, 1998] 

§ 11.25 Minimum penalties to be as-
sessed and enforced by HIOs that li-
cense DQPs. 

(a) Rulebook. Each HIO that licenses 
DQPs in accordance with § 11.7 must in-
clude in its rulebook, and enforce, pen-
alties for the violations listed in this 
section that equal or exceed the pen-
alties listed in paragraph (c) of this 
section and must also enforce the re-
quirement in paragraph (d) of this sec-
tion. 

(b) Suspensions. (1) For the violations 
listed in paragraph (c) of this section 
that require a suspension, any individ-
uals who are responsible for showing 
the horse, exhibiting the horse, enter-
ing or allowing the entry of the horse 
in a show or exhibition, selling the 
horse, auctioning the horse, or offering 
the horse for sale or auction must be 
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suspended. This may include, but may 
not be limited to, the manager, trainer, 
rider, custodian, or seller, as applica-
ble. In addition, if the owner allowed 
any activity listed in this paragraph, 
the owner must be suspended as well. 

(2) Any person who is responsible for 
the shipping, moving, delivering, or re-
ceiving of any horse that is found to be 
bilaterally sore or unilaterally sore as 
defined in paragraph (c) of this section, 
in violation of the scar rule in § 11.3, or 
in violation of the prohibition against 
the use of foreign substances in 
§ 11.2(c), with reason to believe that 
such horse was to be shown, exhibited, 
entered for the purpose of being shown 
or exhibited, sold, auctioned, or offered 
for sale in any horse show, horse exhi-
bition, or horse sale or auction, must 
be suspended; Provided, that this re-
quirement does not apply if the horse 
was transported by a common or con-
tract carrier or an employee thereof in 
the usual course of the carrier’s busi-
ness or the employee’s employment, 
unless the carrier or employee had rea-
son to believe that the horse was sore. 

(3) A person who is suspended must 
not be permitted to show or exhibit 
any horse or judge or manage any 
horse show, horse exhibition, or horse 
sale or auction for the duration of the 
suspension. 

(4) Any person with multiple suspen-
sions must serve them consecutively, 
not concurrently. 

(c) Minimum penalties—(1) Bilateral 
sore. A horse is found to be sore in both 
its forelimbs or hindlimbs. The horse 
must be dismissed from the remainder 
of the horse show, exhibition, sale, or 
auction. First offense: Suspension for 1 
year. Second offense: Suspension for 2 
years. Third offense and any subse-
quent offenses: Suspension for 4 years. 

(2) Unilateral sore. A horse is found to 
be sore in one of its forelimbs or 
hindlimbs. The horse must be dis-
missed from the remainder of the horse 
show, exhibition, sale, or auction. First 
offense: Suspension for 60 days. Second 
offense: Suspension for 120 days. Third 
offense and any subsequent offenses: 
Suspension for 1 year. 

(3) Scar rule violation. A horse is found 
to be in violation of the scar rule in 
§ 11.3. The horse must be dismissed 
from the remainder of the horse show, 

exhibition, sale, or auction. First of-
fense: Suspension for 2 weeks (14 days). 
Second offense: Suspension for 60 days. 
Third offense and any subsequent of-
fenses: Suspension for 1 year. 

(4) Foreign substance violations. Viola-
tions of the prohibition against the use 
of foreign substances in § 11.2(c). 

(i) Before or during the show, exhi-
bition, sale, or auction. The horse must 
be dismissed from the remainder of the 
horse show, exhibition, sale, or auc-
tion. 

(ii) After the show, exhibition, sale, or 
auction. Suspension for 2 weeks (14 
days). The horse must be dismissed 
from the remainder of the horse show, 
exhibition, sale, or auction. 

(5) Equipment violation. Violations of 
the equipment-related prohibitions in 
§ 11.2(b)(1) through (b)(10) and (b)(12) 
through (b)(17). 

(i) Before or during the show, exhi-
bition, sale, or auction. The horse must 
be dismissed from the remainder of the 
horse show, exhibition, sale, or auc-
tion. 

(ii) After the show, exhibition, sale, or 
auction. Suspension for 2 weeks (14 
days). The horse must be dismissed 
from the remainder of the horse show, 
exhibition, sale, or auction. 

(6) Shoeing violation. Violation of the 
shoeing-related prohibitions in 
§ 11.2(b)(18). The horse must be dis-
missed from the remainder of the horse 
show, exhibition, sale, or auction. 

(7) Heel-toe ratio. Violation of the 
heel-toe ratio requirement in 
§ 11.2(b)(11). The horse must be dis-
missed from the remainder of the horse 
show, exhibition, sale, or auction. 

(8) Suspension violation. A violation of 
any suspension penalty previously 
issued. Suspension for an additional 6 
months (180 days) for each occurrence. 

(d) Unruly or fractious horse. A horse 
that cannot be inspected in accordance 
with § 11.21. The horse must be dis-
missed from the individual class for 
which it was to be inspected. 

(e) Appeals. The HIO must provide a 
process in its rulebook for alleged vio-
lators to appeal penalties. The process 
must be approved by the Department. 
For all appeals, the appeal must be 
granted and the case heard and decided 
by the HIO or the violator must begin 
serving the penalty within 60 days of 
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6 See footnote 6 to § 11.7. 

the date of the violation. The HIO must 
submit to the Department all decisions 
on penalty appeals within 30 days of 
the completion of the appeal. When a 
penalty is overturned on appeal, the 
HIO must also submit evidence com-
posing the record of the HIO’s decision 
on the appeal. 

(f) Departmental prosecution. The De-
partment retains the authority to ini-
tiate enforcement proceedings with re-
spect to any violation of the Act, in-
cluding violations for which penalties 
are assessed in accordance with this 
section, and to impose the penalties 
authorized by the Act if the Depart-
ment determines that such actions are 
necessary to fulfill the purpose of the 
Act and this part. In addition, the De-
partment reserves the right to inform 
the Attorney General of any violation 
of the Act or of this part, including 
violations for which penalties are as-
sessed in accordance with this section. 

[77 FR 33618, June 7, 2012] 

§ 11.40 Prohibitions and requirements 
concerning persons involved in 
transportation of certain horses. 

(a) Each person who ships, trans-
ports, or otherwise moves, or delivers 
or receives for movement, any horse 
with reason to believe such horse may 
be shown, exhibited, sold or auctioned 
at any horse show, horse exhibition, or 
horse sale or auction, shall allow and 
assist in the inspection of such horse at 
any such show, exhibition, sale, or auc-
tion to determine compliance with the 
Act as provided in § 11.4 of the regula-
tions and shall furnish to any APHIS 
representatives upon his request the 
following information: 

(1) Name and address (including 
street address, post office box, and ZIP 
code) of the horse owner and of the 
shipper, if different from the owner or 
trainer. 

(2) Name and address (including 
street address, post office box, and ZIP 
code) of the horse trainer. 

(3) Name and address (including 
street address, post office box, and ZIP 
code) of the carrier transporting the 
horse, and of the driver of the means of 
conveyance used. 

(4) Origin of the shipment and date 
thereof, and, 

(5) Destination of shipment. 

(b) [Reserved] 

(Approved by the Office of Management and 
Budget under control number 0579–0056) 

[44 FR 25179, Apr. 27, 1979, as amended at 48 
FR 57471, Dec. 30, 1983; 56 FR 13750, Apr. 4, 
1991] 

§ 11.41 Reporting required of horse in-
dustry organizations or associa-
tions. 

Each horse industry organization or 
association which sponsors, or which 
sanctions any horse show, horse exhi-
bition, or horse sale or auction, shall 
furnish the Department 6 by March 1 of 
each year with all such organization or 
association rulebooks, and disciplinary 
procedures for the previous year per-
taining to violations of the Horse Pro-
tection Act or regulations, applicable 
to such horse show, horse exhibition, 
or horse sale or auction. Rulebooks and 
information relating to disciplinary 
procedures for violations of the Horse 
Protection Act or regulations should 
be readily available to all exhibitors, 
trainers, and owners of horses at such 
show, exhibition, sale, or auction. Each 
horse industry organization or associa-
tion shall furnish the Department 6 
with a quarterly report of all discipli-
nary actions taken against the man-
agement or any horse show, horse exhi-
bition, horse sale, or horse auction, 
any exhibitor, or any licensed DQP, for 
violation of the Horse Protection Act 
or regulations, and the results thereof. 

(Approved by the Office of Management and 
Budget under control number 0579–0056) 

[44 FR 25179, Apr. 27, 1979, as amended at 48 
FR 57471, Dec. 30, 1983] 

PART 12—RULES OF PRACTICE 
GOVERNING PROCEEDINGS 
UNDER THE HORSE PROTECTION 
ACT 

Subpart A—General 

Sec. 
12.1 Scope and applicability of rules of prac-

tice. 

Subpart B—Supplemental Rules of Practice 

12.10 Stipulations. 
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