## § 147.42

Department. The U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Egg type chickens. Chickens bred for the primary purpose of producing eggs for human consumption.

Exhibition Poultry. Domesticated fowl which are bred for the combined purposes of meat or egg production and competitive showing.

Game birds. Domesticated fowl, such as pheasants, partridge, quail, grouse, and guineas, but not doves and pigeons.

Meat type chickens. Chickens bred for the primary purpose of producing meat.

Plan Conference. A meeting convened for the purpose of recommending changes in the provisions of the Plan.

Plan or NPIP. The National Poultry Improvement Plan.

Service. The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, of the Department.

State. Any State, the District of Columbia, or Puerto Rico.

Waterfowl. Domesticated fowl that normally swim, such as ducks and geese.

[36 FR 23121, Dec. 3, 1971, as amended at 38 FR 3038, Feb. 1, 1973. Redesignated at 44 FR 61586, Oct. 26, 1979; 59 FR 12805, Mar. 18, 1994]

## §147.42 General.

Changes in this subchapter shall be made in accordance with the procedure described in this subpart: *Provided*, That the Department reserves the right to make changes in this subchapter without observance of such procedure when such action is deemed necessary in the public interest.

## § 147.43 General Conference Committee.

(a) The General Conference Committee Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson shall be elected by the members of the General Conference Committee. A representative of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service will serve as Executive Secretary and will provide the necessary staff support for the General Conference Committee shall consist of one member-at-large who is a participant in the National Poultry Improvement Plan and one member to be elected, as provided in

paragraph (b) of this section, from each of the following regions:

- (1) North Atlantic: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.
- (2) East North Central: Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin.
- (3) West North Central: Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, and Kansas.
- (4) South Atlantic: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, and Puerto Rico
- (5) South Central: Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas.
- (6) Western: Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Nevada, Washington, Oregon, California, Alaska, and Hawaii.
- (b) The regional committee members and their alternates will be elected by the official delegates of their respective regions, and the member-at-large will be elected by all official delegates. There must be at least two nominees for each position, the voting will be by secret ballot, and the results will be recorded. At least one nominee from each region must be from an underrepresented group (minorities, women, or persons with disabilities). The process for soliciting nominations for regional committee members will include, but not be limited to: Advertisements in at least two industry journals, such as the newsletters of the American Association of Avian Pathologists, the National Chicken Council, the United Egg Producers, and the National Turkey Federation: a FEDERAL REGISTER announcement; and special inquiries for nominations from universities or colleges with minority/disability enrollments and faculty members in poultry science or veterinary science.
- (c) Three regional members shall be elected at each Plan Conference. All members shall serve for a period of 4 years, subject to the continuation of the Committee by the Secretary of Agriculture, and may not succeed themselves: *Provided*, That an alternate member who assumed a Committee member vacancy following mid-term would be eligible for re-election to a