Thursday, May 15, 1997—7:00–9:00 p.m.

Mesa Community Center, 201 Center St., Palo Verde 1 Room, Mesa, AZ 85211

Michael A. Taylor,

Manager, BLM Phoenix Field Office.

Judith A. Miller,

Deputy Forest Supervisor, Tonto National Forest.

[FR Doc. 97–9620 Filed 4–11–97; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 4310–32–P

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Forest Service

Hen Moose Timber Sale, Willamette National Forest, Linn County, Oregon

AGENCY: Forest Service, USDA. **ACTION:** Cancellation Notice.

SUMMARY: On May 13, 1991, a Notice of Intent (NOI) to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) for the Hen Moose Timber Sale on the Sweet Home Ranger District of the Willamette National Forest was published in the Federal Register (56 FR 21985) and revised November 19, 1992 (57 FR 54563). A draft EIS was released for public comment December 1992. A Notice of Availability for the draft EIS was published in the Federal Register on December 11, 1992 (57 FR 58805). Forest Service has decided to cancel the environmental analysis process. There will be no final EIS for the Hen Moose Timber Sale. The NOI is hereby rescinded.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Direct questions regarding this Cancellation to Donna Short, Integrated Resource Management Assistant, Sweet Home Ranger District, 3225 Highway 20, Sweet Home, Oregon 97386, or phone (541) 367–5168.

Dated: April 4, 1997.

Darrel Kenops,

Forest Supervisor.

[FR Doc. 97–9513 Filed 4–11–97; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 3410-11-M

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration

Opportunity for Designation in the Arkansas (AR), Los Angeles (CA), and Ohio Valley (IN) Areas

AGENCY: Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA).

ACTION: Notice.

SUMMARY: The United States Grain Standards Act, as amended (Act), provides that official agency designations will end not later than triennially and may be renewed. The designations of Arkansas Grain Inspection Service (Arkansas), Los Angeles Grain Inspection Service, Inc. (Los Angeles), and Ohio Valley Grain Inspection, Inc. (Ohio Valley), will end October 31, 1997, according to the Act. GIPSA is asking persons interested in providing official services in the Arkansas, Los Angeles, and Ohio Valley areas to submit an application for designation.

DATES: Applications must be postmarked or sent by telecopier (FAX) on or before May 30, 1997.

ADDRESSES: Applications must be submitted to USDA, GIPSA, Janet M. Hart, Chief, Review Branch, Compliance Division, STOP 3604, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250–3604. Applications may be submitted by FAX on 202–690–2755. If an application is submitted by FAX, GIPSA reserves the right to request an original application. All applications will be made available for public inspection at this address located at 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., during regular business hours.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Janet M. Hart, telephone 202–720–8525. SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

This action has been reviewed and determined not to be a rule or regulation as defined in Executive Order 12866 and Departmental Regulation 1512–1; therefore, the Executive Order and Departmental Regulation do not apply to this action.

Section 7(f)(1) of the Act authorizes GIPSA's Administrator to designate a qualified applicant to provide official services in a specified area after determining that the applicant is better able than any other applicant to provide such official services. GIPSA designated Arkansas, main office located in Little Rock, Arkansas; Los Angeles, main office located in Los Angeles, California; and Ohio Valley, main office located in Newburgh, Indiana, to provide official inspection services under the Act on November 1, 1994.

Section 7(g)(1) of the Act provides that designations of official agencies shall end not later than triennially and may be renewed according to the criteria and procedures prescribed in Section 7(f) of the Act. The designations of Arkansas, Los Angeles, and Ohio Valley end on October 31, 1997, according to the Act.

Pursuant to Section 7(f)(2) of the Act, the following geographic area, in the

States of Arkansas and Texas, is assigned to Arkansas.

In Arkansas:

Bounded on the North by the northern Arkansas State line from the western Benton County line east to the eastern Clay County line,

Bounded on the East by the eastern Clay, Greene, Lawrence, Jackson, Woodruff, Monroe, Arkansas, Desha, and Chicot County lines;

Bounded on the South by the southern Arkansas State line from the eastern Chicot County line west to the western Miller County line; and

Bounded on the West by the western Arkansas State line from the southern Miller County line north to the northern Benton County line.

Bowie and Cass Counties, Texas. Arkansas' assigned geographic area does not include the following grain elevator inside Arkansas' area which has been and will continue to be serviced by the following official agency: Memphis Grain Inspection Service: Lockhart-Coleman Grain Company, Augusta, Woodruff County, Arkansas.

Pursuant to Section 7(f)(2) of the Act, the following geographic area, in the State of California, is assigned to Los Angeles.

Bounded on the North by the Angeles National Forest southern boundary from State Route 2 east; the San Bernadino National Forest southern boundary east to State Route 79;

Bounded on the East by State Route 79 south to State Route 74;

Bounded on the South by State Route 74 west-southwest to Interstate 5; Interstate 5 northwest to Interstate 405; Interstate 405 northwest to State Route 55; State Route 55 northeast to Interstate 5; Interstate 5 northwest to State Route 91; State Route 91 west to State Route 11; and

Bounded on the West by State Route 11 north to U.S. Route 66; U.S. Route 66 west to Interstate 210; Interstate 210 northwest to State Route 2; State Route 2 north to the Angeles National Forest boundary.

Pursuant to Section 7(f)(2) of the Act, the following geographic area, in the States of Indiana, Kentucky, and Tennessee, is assigned to Ohio Valley.

Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Knox (except the area west of U.S. Route 41 (150) from Sullivan County south to U.S. Route 50), Pike, Posey, Vanderburgh, and Warrick Counties, Indiana.

Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Henderson, Hopkins (west of State Route 109 south of the Western Kentucky Parkway), Logan, Todd, Union, and Webster (west of Alternate