[Federal Register Volume 63, Number 202 (Tuesday, October 20, 1998)]
[Pages 56031-56032]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 98-28108]




Mississippi; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

[[Page 56032]]

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major 
disaster for the State of Mississippi (FEMA-1251-DR), dated October 1, 
1998, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 1998.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Madge Dale, Response and Recovery 
Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, 
(202) 646-3260.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter 
dated October 1, 1998, the President declared a major disaster under 
the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency 
Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq.), as follows:

    I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State 
of Mississippi, resulting from Hurricane Georges beginning on 
September 25, 1998, and continuing is of sufficient severity and 
magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert 
T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, P.L. 93-
288, as amended (``the Stafford Act''). I, therefore, declare that 
such a major disaster exists in the State of Mississippi.
    In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such 
amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.
    You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance and Hazard 
Mitigation in the designated areas and any other forms of assistance 
under the Stafford Act you may deem appropriate. Consistent with the 
requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal 
funds provided under the Stafford Act for Hazard Mitigation will be 
limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs. If Public 
Assistance is later warranted, Federal funds provided under that 
program will also be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible 

    The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 
310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public 
Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed 
six months after the date of this declaration.
    Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority vested in the 
Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency under Executive 
Order 12148, I hereby appoint Michael J. Polny of the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this 
declared disaster.
    I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of 
Mississippi to have been affected adversely by this declared major 
disaster: Hancock, Harrison, and Jackson Counties for Individual 
    All counties within the State of Mississippi are eligible to apply 
for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) 
are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 83.537, Community 
Disaster Loans; 83.538, Cora Brown Fund Program; 83.539, Crisis 
Counseling; 83.540, Disaster Legal Services Program; 83.541, 
Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 83.542, Fire Suppression 
Assistance; 83.543, Individual and Family Grant (IFG) Program; 
83.544, Public Assistance Grants; 83.545, Disaster Housing Program; 
83.548, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.)
James L. Witt,
[FR Doc. 98-28108 Filed 10-19-98; 8:45 am]