[Federal Register Volume 64, Number 244 (Tuesday, December 21, 1999)]
[Rules and Regulations]
[Pages 71283-71284]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 99-33014]



16 CFR Part 0

Miscellaneous Rules

AGENCY: Federal Trade Commission.

ACTION: Final rule.


[[Page 71284]]

SUMMARY: The Federal Trade Commission Rules of Practice are being 
amended to reflect a reconfiguration of the Commission's Regional 
Office structure and operations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: December 21, 1999.

ADDRESSES: Requests for copies of the Federal Register notice should be 
sent to the Consumer Response Center, Room 130, Federal Trade 
Commission, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20580. The 
notice announcing the changes is available on the Internet at the 
Commission's website, ``http://www.ftc.gov''.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Donald S. Clark, Secretary, Federal 
Trade Commission, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20580, 
telephone number (202) 326-2514, E-mail ``[email protected]''.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: In July 1999 the Commission implemented a 
plan to reconfigure its Regional Office structure and operations. In 
particular, the Commission reduced the number of regions from ten to 
seven; closed the Boston and Denver Regional Offices, effective July 
10, 1999; and changed the names and geographic areas of responsibility 
of the remaining Regional Offices.

List of Subjects in 16 CFR Part 0

    Organization and functions (Government agencies).

    For the reasons set forth in the preamble, the Federal Trade 
Commission amends Title 16, Chapter I, of the Code of Federal 
Regulations as follows:


    1. The authority for Part 0 continues to read as follows:

    Authority: Sec. 6(g), 38 Stat. 721 (15 U.S.C. 46); 80 Stat. 383 
as amended (5 U.S.C. 552).

    2. Section 0.19(b) is revised to read as follows:

Sec. 0.19  The Regional Offices.

* * * * *
    (b) The names, geographic areas of responsibility, and addresses of 
the respective regional offices are as follows:
    (1) Northeast Region (located in New York City, New York), covering 
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, 
Rhode Island, Vermont, and Puerto Rico. Federal Trade Commission, One 
Bowling Green, Suite 318, New York, New York 10004.
    (2) Southeast Region (located in Atlanta, Georgia), covering 
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, 
and Tennessee. Federal Trade Commission, Suite 5M35, Midrise Building, 
60 Forsyth Street, SW., Atlanta, Georgia 30303.
    (3) East Central Region (located in Cleveland, Ohio), covering 
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, 
Virginia, and West Virginia. Federal Trade Commission, Eaton Center, 
Suite 200, 1111 Superior Avenue, Cleveland, Ohio 44114.
    (4) Midwest Region (located in Chicago, Illinois), covering 
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, 
Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Federal Trade 
Commission, 55 East Monroe Street, Suite 1860, Chicago, Illinois 60603-
    (5) Southwest Region (located in Dallas, Texas), covering Arkansas, 
Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Federal Trade Commission, 
1999 Bryan Street, Suite 2150, Dallas, Texas 75201.
    (6) Northwest Region (located in Seattle, Washington), covering 
Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming. Federal Trade 
Commission, 915 Second Avenue, Suite 2896, Seattle, Washington 98174.
    (7) Western Region (located in San Francisco and Los Angeles, 
California), covering Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, 
and Utah.
    (i) San Francisco Office: Federal Trade Commission, 901 Market 
Street, Suite 570, San Francisco, California 94103.
    (ii) Los Angeles Office: Federal Trade Commission, 10877 Wilshire 
Boulevard, Suite 700, Los Angeles, California 90024.
* * * * *
Donald S. Clark,
[FR Doc. 99-33014 Filed 12-20-99; 8:45 am]