[Federal Register Volume 74, Number 75 (Tuesday, April 21, 2009)]
[Page 18246]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: E9-9068]



Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-1830-DR; Docket ID FEMA-2008-0018]

Minnesota; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major 
disaster for the State of Minnesota (FEMA-1830-DR), dated April 9, 
2009, and related determinations.

DATES: Effective Date: April 9, 2009.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Peggy Miller, Disaster Assistance 
Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street, SW., 
Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter 
dated April 9, 2009, the President issued a major disaster declaration 
under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 
Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121-5207 (the Stafford Act), as 

    I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State 
of Minnesota resulting from severe storms and flooding beginning on 
March 16, 2009, and continuing, is of sufficient severity and 
magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert 
T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 
5121-5207 (``the Stafford Act''). Therefore, I declare that such a 
major disaster exists in the State of Minnesota.
    In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such 
amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.
    You are authorized to provide Public Assistance in the 
designated areas, Hazard Mitigation throughout the State, and any 
other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act that you deem 
appropriate. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance 
is supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act 
for Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 75 
percent of the total eligible costs. If Other Needs Assistance under 
Section 408 of the Stafford Act is later warranted, Federal funding 
under that program will also be limited to 75 percent of the total 
eligible costs.
    Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration 
to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

    The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice 
that Michael H. Smith, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal 
Coordinating Officer for this major disaster.
    The following areas of the State of Minnesota have been designated 
as adversely affected by this major disaster:

    Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse, and Wilkin 
Counties for Public Assistance.
    All counties within the State of Minnesota are eligible to apply 
for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) 
are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community 
Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 
97.033, Disaster Legal Services; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment 
Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance Grant; 97.048, 
Disaster Housing Assistance to Individuals and Households in 
Presidentially Declared Disaster Areas; 97.049, Presidentially 
Declared Disaster Assistance--Disaster Housing Operations for 
Individuals and Households; 97.050, Presidentially Declared Disaster 
Assistance to Individuals and Households--Other Needs; 97.036, 
Disaster Grants--Public Assistance (Presidentially Declared 
Disasters); 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant.

Nancy Ward,
Acting Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.
[FR Doc. E9-9068 Filed 4-20-09; 8:45 am]