[Federal Register Volume 75, Number 35 (Tuesday, February 23, 2010)]
[Page 8099]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2010-3439]



Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-1871-DR; Docket ID FEMA-2010-0002]

North Carolina; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major 
disaster for the State of North Carolina (FEMA-1871-DR), dated February 
2, 2010, and related determinations.

DATES: Effective Date: February 2, 2010.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Peggy Miller, Disaster Assistance 
Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street, SW., 
Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter 
dated February 2, 2010, the President issued a major disaster 
declaration under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster 
Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the 
``Stafford Act''), as follows:

    I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State 
of North Carolina resulting from severe winter storms and flooding 
during the period of December 18-25, 2009, is of sufficient severity 
and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the 
Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 
U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ``Stafford Act''). Therefore, I declare 
that such a major disaster exists in the State of North Carolina.
    In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such 
amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.
    You are authorized to provide Public Assistance in the 
designated areas and Hazard Mitigation throughout the State. 
Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance is 
supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for 
Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 75 
percent of the total eligible costs.
    Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration 
for the approved assistance to the extent allowable under the 
Stafford Act.

    The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice 
that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, under 
Executive Order 12148, as amended, Michael Bolch, of FEMA is appointed 
to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this major disaster.
    The following areas of the State of North Carolina have been 
designated as adversely affected by this major disaster:

    Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, 
Jackson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Watauga, and Yancey Counties 
for Public Assistance.
    All counties within the State of North Carolina are eligible to 
apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) 
are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community 
Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 
97.033, Disaster Legal Services; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment 
Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance Grant; 97.048, 
Disaster Housing Assistance to Individuals and Households in 
Presidentially Declared Disaster Areas; 97.049, Presidentially 
Declared Disaster Assistance--Disaster Housing Operations for 
Individuals and Households; 97.050, Presidentially Declared Disaster 
Assistance to Individuals and Households--Other Needs; 97.036, 
Disaster Grants--Public Assistance (Presidentially Declared 
Disasters); 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant.

W. Craig Fugate,
Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.
[FR Doc. 2010-3439 Filed 2-22-10; 8:45 am]