[Federal Register Volume 76, Number 109 (Tuesday, June 7, 2011)]
[Pages 32985-32986]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2011-14017]



Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-1976-DR; Docket ID FEMA-2011-0001]

Kentucky; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major 
disaster for the Commonwealth of Kentucky (FEMA-1976-DR), dated May 4, 
2011, and related determinations.

DATES: Effective Date: May 4, 2011.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Peggy Miller, Office of Response and 
Recovery, Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street, SW., 
Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter 
dated May 4, 2011, the President issued a major disaster declaration 
under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief

[[Page 32986]]

and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ``Stafford 
Act''), as follows:

    I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the 
Commonwealth of Kentucky resulting from severe storms, tornadoes, 
and flooding, beginning on April 22, 2011, and continuing, is of 
sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster 
declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 
Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ``Stafford 
Act''). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster exists in 
the Commonwealth of Kentucky.
    In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such 
amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.
    You are authorized to provide Public Assistance in the 
designated areas, emergency protective measures (Category B), 
limited to direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance 
program in the selected areas, and Hazard Mitigation throughout the 
Commonwealth. Consistent with the requirement that Federal 
assistance is supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the 
Stafford Act for Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation will be 
limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.
    Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration 
for the approved assistance to the extent allowable under the 
Stafford Act.

    The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice 
that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, under 
Executive Order 12148, as amended, Steven S. Ward, of FEMA is appointed 
to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this major disaster.
    The following areas of the Commonwealth of Kentucky have been 
designated as adversely affected by this major disaster:

    Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Fleming, Gallatin, 
Kenton, Lawrence, Morgan, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen and Washington 
Counties for Public Assistance.
    Ballard, Carlisle, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Henderson, 
Hickman, Livingston, McCracken, and Union Counties for emergency 
protective measures (Category B), limited to direct Federal 
assistance, under the Public Assistance program.
    All counties within the Commonwealth of Kentucky are eligible to 
apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

    The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers 
(CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, 
Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund; 97.032, Crisis 
Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services; 97.034, Disaster 
Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance 
Grant; 97.048, Disaster Housing Assistance to Individuals and 
Households in Presidentially Declared Disaster Areas; 97.049, 
Presidentially Declared Disaster Assistance--Disaster Housing 
Operations for Individuals and Households; 97.050, Presidentially 
Declared Disaster Assistance to Individuals and Households--Other 
Needs; 97.036, Disaster Grants--Public Assistance (Presidentially 
Declared Disasters); 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant.

    Dated: June 1, 2011.
W. Craig Fugate,
Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.
[FR Doc. 2011-14017 Filed 6-6-11; 8:45 am]