[Federal Register Volume 76, Number 109 (Tuesday, June 7, 2011)]
[Page 32985]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2011-14018]



Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-1973-DR; Docket ID FEMA-2001-0001]

Georgia; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major 
disaster for the State of Georgia (FEMA-1973-DR), dated April 29, 2011, 
and related determinations.

DATES: Effective Date: April 29, 2011.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Peggy Miller, Recovery Directorate, 
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street, SW., Washington, DC 
20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter 
dated April 29, 2011, the President declared a major disaster under the 
authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency 
Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121-5207 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

    I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State 
of Georgia resulting from severe storms, tornadoes, straight line 
winds, and associated flooding during the period of April 27-28, 
2011, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major 
disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief 
and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ``Stafford 
Act''). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster exists in 
the State of Georgia.
    In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such 
amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.
    You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance and 
assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures 
(Categories A and B), including direct Federal assistance, under the 
Public Assistance program in the designated areas, Hazard Mitigation 
throughout the State, and any other forms of assistance under the 
Stafford Act that you deem appropriate subject to completion of 
Preliminary Damage Assessments (PDAs), unless you determine that the 
incident is of such unusual severity and magnitude that PDAs are not 
required to determine the need for supplemental Federal assistance 
pursuant to 44 C.F.R. 206.33(d).
    Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance is 
supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for 
Public Assistance, Hazard Mitigation, and Other Needs Assistance 
will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.
    Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration 
to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

    The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 
310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public 
Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed 
six months after the date of this declaration.
    The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice 
that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, under 
Executive Order 12148, as amended, Gracia B. Szczech, of FEMA is 
appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared 
    The following areas of the State of Georgia have been designated as 
adversely affected by this declared major disaster:

    Bartow, Catoosa, Dade, Floyd, Polk, Spalding, and Walker 
Counties for Individual Assistance.
    Bartow, Catoosa, Coweta, Dade, Floyd, Greene, Lamar, Meriwether, 
Monroe, Morgan, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup, and Walker 
Counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures 
(Categories A and B), including direct Federal assistance, under the 
Public Assistance program.
    All counties within the State of Georgia are eligible to apply 
for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) 
are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community 
Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 
97.033, Disaster Legal Services; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment 
Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance Grant; 97.048, 
Disaster Housing Assistance to Individuals and Households in 
Presidentially Declared Disaster Areas; 97.049, Presidentially 
Declared Disaster Assistance--Disaster Housing Operations for 
Individuals and Households; 97.050, Presidentially Declared Disaster 
Assistance to Individuals and Households--Other Needs; 97.036, 
Disaster Grants--Public Assistance (Presidentially Declared 
Disasters); 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant.

    Dated: June 1, 2011.
W. Craig Fugate,
Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.
[FR Doc. 2011-14018 Filed 6-6-11; 8:45 am]