[Federal Register Volume 76, Number 119 (Tuesday, June 21, 2011)]
[Pages 36140-36141]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2011-15311]



Federal Emergency Management Agency

[Internal Agency Docket No. FEMA-1983-DR; Docket ID FEMA-2001-0001]

Mississippi; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency, DHS.

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major 
disaster for the State of Mississippi (FEMA-1983-DR), dated May 11, 
2011, and related determinations.

DATES: Effective Date: May 11, 2011.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Peggy Miller, Recovery Directorate, 
Federal Emergency Management Agency, 500 C Street, SW., Washington, DC 
20472, (202) 646-3886.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter 
dated May 11, 2011, the President declared a major disaster under the 
authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency 
Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the ``Stafford Act''), as 

    I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State 
of Mississippi resulting from flooding beginning on May 3, 2011, and 
continuing, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a 
major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster 
Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq. (the 
``Stafford Act''). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster 
exists in the State of Mississippi.
    In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such 
amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.
    You are authorized to provide Individual Assistance in the 
designated areas and Hazard Mitigation throughout the State, and any 
other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act that you deem 
appropriate subject to completion of Preliminary Damage Assessments 
(PDAs), unless you determine that the incident is of such unusual 
severity and magnitude that PDAs are not required to determine the 
need for supplemental Federal assistance pursuant to 44 CFR 
    Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance is 
supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for 
Hazard Mitigation and Other Needs Assistance will be limited to 75 
percent of the total eligible costs.
    Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration 
to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

    The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 
310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public 
Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed 
six months after the date of this declaration.
    The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice 
that pursuant to the authority vested in the Administrator, under 
Executive Order 12148, as amended, Terry L. Quarles, of FEMA, is 
appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared 

[[Page 36141]]

    The following areas of the State of Mississippi have been 
designated as adversely affected by this declared major disaster:

    Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Humphreys, 
Issaquena, Jefferson, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, 
Wilkinson, and Yazoo Counties for Individual Assistance.
    All counties within the State of Mississippi are eligible to 
apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

    The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers 
(CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, 
Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund; 97.032, Crisis 
Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services; 97.034, Disaster 
Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance 
Grant; 97.048, Disaster Housing Assistance to Individuals and 
Households In Presidentially Declared Disaster Areas; 97.049, 
Presidentially Declared Disaster Assistance--Disaster Housing 
Operations for Individuals and Households; 97.050, Presidentially 
Declared Disaster Assistance to Individuals and Households--Other 
Needs; 97.036, Disaster Grants--Public Assistance (Presidentially 
Declared Disasters); 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant.

    June 14, 2011.
W. Craig Fugate,
Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency.
[FR Doc. 2011-15311 Filed 6-20-11; 8:45 am]