[Federal Register Volume 76, Number 126 (Thursday, June 30, 2011)]
[Page 38348]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2011-16431]

                                                Federal Register

This section of the FEDERAL REGISTER contains documents other than rules 
or proposed rules that are applicable to the public. Notices of hearings 
and investigations, committee meetings, agency decisions and rulings, 
delegations of authority, filing of petitions and applications and agency 
statements of organization and functions are examples of documents 
appearing in this section.


Federal Register / Vol. 76, No. 126 / Thursday, June 30, 2011 / 

[[Page 38348]]



Agricultural Research Service

Notice of Appointment of Committee Members to the Advisory 
Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture

AGENCY: Office of the Under Secretary, Research, Education, and 
Economics, USDA.

ACTION: Notice of Appointment of Committee Members to the Advisory 
Committee on Biotechnology and 21st Century Agriculture.


SUMMARY: The Office of the Under Secretary, Research, Education, and 
Economics of the Department of Agriculture, in accordance with the 
Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C. App. 2, announces the 
appointment of members to the Advisory Committee on Biotechnology and 
21st Century Agriculture (``AC21'').

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Michael Schechtman, Telephone: 202-
720-3817, Fax: 202-690-4265, or e-mail [email protected].

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Twenty-two members were appointed from 
nominations of more than 150 well-qualified individuals, representing 
the biotechnology industry, the organic food industry, farming 
communities, the seed industry, food manufacturers, State government, 
consumer and community development groups, the medical profession, and 
academic researchers. Equal opportunity practices were followed in 
appointing committee members. To assure that recommendations of the 
advisory committee take into account the needs of diverse groups served 
by the Department, membership includes, to the extent practicable, 
individuals with demonstrated ability to represent minorities, women, 
and persons with disabilities.
    The following appointments to the AC21 have been made:
    Russell C. Redding, Interim Dean of Agriculture and Environmental 
Sciences, Delaware Valley College, in Aspers, Pennsylvania, who will 
serve as Chair of the AC21;
    Isaura Andaluz, Executive Director, Cuatro Puertas, of Albuquerque, 
New Mexico;
    Paul C. Anderson, Executive Director, International Programs, 
Donald Danforth Plant Science Center, in St. Louis, Missouri;
    Laura L. Batcha, Chief of Policy and External Relations, Organic 
Trade Association, in Putney, Vermont;
    Charles M. Benbrook, Chief Scientist, The Organic Center, in 
Enterprise, Oregon;
    Barry R. Bushue, Farmer, Vice-President of the American Farm Bureau 
Federation and President of the Oregon Farm Bureau, in Boring, Oregon;
    Daryl D. Buss, Dean, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of 
Wisconsin in Madison, Wisconsin;
    Lynn E. Clarkson, Farmer and President, Clarkson Grain Company, in 
Cerro Gordo, Illinois;
    Leon C. Corzine, Farmer, in Assumption, Illinois;
    Michael S. Funk, Chairman, United Natural Foods, Inc., in Nevada 
City, California;
    Douglas C. Goehring, North Dakota Commissioner of Agriculture, in 
Menoken, North Dakota;
    Melissa L. Hughes, Corporate Counsel and Director, Government 
Affairs, CROPP Cooperative/Organic Valley Family of Farms, in Viroqua, 
    Darrin Ihnen, Farmer and Chair, National Corn Growers Association, 
in Hurley, South Dakota;
    Gregory A. Jaffe, Director, Biotechnology Project, Center for 
Science in the Public Interest, in McLean,Virginia;
    David W. Johnson, Assistant Director of Research, Cal/West Seeds, 
in La Crosse, Wisconsin;
    Keith F. Kisling, Farmer and Chairman, Oklahoma Wheat Commission, 
in Burlington, Oklahoma;
    Josephine O. (Josette) Lewis, Director, Agricultural Development, 
Arcadia Biosciences, in Davis, California;
    Mary-Howell R. Martens, Farmer and Manager, Lakeview Organic Grain 
LLC, in Penn Yan, New York;
    Marty D. Matlock, Professor of Ecological Engineering, Department 
of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, University of Arkansas, in 
Fayetteville, Arkansas;
    Angela M. Olsen, Senior Advisor and Associate General Counsel, 
DuPont Company and Pioneer Hi-Bred, in Arlington, Virginia;
    Jerome B. Slocum, Farmer and President, North Mississippi Grain 
Company, in Coldwater, Mississippi;
    Latresia A. Wilson, Vice-President, Black Farmers and 
Agriculturalists Association, Florida Chapter, farmer, and physician, 
in Ocala, Florida.
    Committee members will initially serve one- or two-year terms, and 
may be reappointed to serve up to six consecutive years. In the event 
of a vacancy, the Secretary will appoint a new member as appropriate 
and subject to the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act. 
The duties of the Committee are solely advisory. Under its Charter, the 
AC21 is charged with examining the long-term impacts of biotechnology 
on the U.S. food and agriculture system and USDA, and providing 
guidance to USDA on pressing individual issues, identified by the 
Office of the Secretary, related to the application of biotechnology in 
agriculture. The immediate task for the committee within the overall 
charge will be to provide practical recommendations to the Secretary of 
Agriculture on ways to strengthen coexistence among different 
agricultural crop production methods.
    The Committee will meet in Washington, DC, up to four (4) times per 
    Committee members will serve without pay. Reimbursement of travel 
expenses and per diem costs shall be made to Committee members who 
would be unable to attend Committee meetings without such 

    Dated: June 24, 2011.
Catherine E. Woteki,
Under Secretary, Research, Education, and Economics.
[FR Doc. 2011-16431 Filed 6-29-11; 8:45 am]