[Federal Register Volume 77, Number 86 (Thursday, May 3, 2012)]
[Pages 26274-26275]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2012-10724]



Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee

AGENCY: Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy.

ACTION: Notice of open meeting.


SUMMARY: This notice announces a meeting of the Nuclear Energy Advisory 
Committee (NEAC). The Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. Law 92-463, 
86 Stat. 770) requires that public notice of these meetings be 
announced in the Federal Register.

DATES: Tuesday, June 12, 2012; 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

ADDRESSES: L'Enfant Plaza Hotel, 480 L'Enfant Plaza SW., Washington, DC 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Kenneth Chuck Wade, Designated Federal 
Officer, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Avenue SW., 
Washington, DC 20585; Telephone: (301) 903-6509; Email: 

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Background: The Nuclear Energy Advisory 
Committee (NEAC), formerly the Nuclear Energy Research Advisory 
Committee (NERAC), was established in 1998 by the U.S. Department of 
Energy (DOE) to provide advice on complex scientific, technical, and 
policy issues that arise in the planning, managing, and implementation 
of DOE's civilian nuclear energy research programs. The committee is 
composed of 23 individuals of diverse backgrounds selected for their 
technical expertise and experience, established records of 
distinguished professional service, and their knowledge of issues that 
pertain to nuclear energy.
    Purpose of the Meeting: Briefing the committee on recent 
developments and current status of research programs and projects 
pursued by the Department of Energy's Office of Nuclear Energy; and 
receiving advice and comments in return from the committee.
    Tentative Agenda: The meeting is expected to include presentations 
that cover such topics as the Office of Nuclear Energy's (NE) 2013 
Budget, the status of NE's Small Modular Reactor Program, and the 
status of NE's Used Fuel Disposition Program. In addition,

[[Page 26275]]

there will be presentations by three Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee 
subcommittees and a presentation on Accident Tolerant Fuels. Finally, a 
presentation will be given on the status of NE's University Program. 
The agenda may change to accommodate committee business. For updates, 
one is directed to the NEAC Web site: http://www.ne.doe.gov/neac/neNeacMeetings.html.
    Public Participation: Individuals and representatives of 
organizations who would like to offer comments and suggestions may do 
so on the day of the meeting, Tuesday June 12, 2012. Approximately 
thirty minutes will be reserved for public comments. Time allotted per 
speaker will depend on the number who wish to speak but is not expected 
to exceed 5 minutes. Anyone who is not able to make the meeting or has 
had insufficient time to address the committee is invited to send a 
written statement to Kenneth Chuck Wade at the address or email listed 
    Minutes: The minutes of the meeting will be available by contacting 
Mr. Wade at the address above or on the Department of Energy, Office of 
Nuclear Energy Web site at: http://www.ne.doe.gov/neac/neNeacMeetings.html.

    Issued at Washington, DC on April 27, 2012.
LaTanya R. Butler,
Acting Deputy Committee Management Officer.
[FR Doc. 2012-10724 Filed 5-2-12; 8:45 am]