[Federal Register Volume 77, Number 106 (Friday, June 1, 2012)]
[Page 32655]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2012-13234]



[Docket No. DHS-2012-0009]

Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council (CIPAC)

AGENCY: National Protection and Programs Directorate, DHS.

ACTION: Notice of the CIPAC charter renewal.


SUMMARY: The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced the 
establishment of the Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory 
Council (CIPAC) by notice published in the Federal Register on March 
24, 2006. This committee was exempted from the Federal Advisory 
Committee Act (FACA) under the authority of the Secretary of the 
Department of Homeland Security in section 871 of the Homeland Security 
Act of 2002, 6 U.S.C. 451(a); that notice identified the purpose of 
CIPAC as well as its membership. This notice provides (1) that the 
Secretary has determined that CIPAC and its exemption from FACA 
continues to serve the purpose for which it was established and has 
renewed its charter, which is required every two years; (2) 
instructions on how the public can obtain the CIPAC membership roster 
and other information on the Council; and (3) information on the 
membership within CIPAC of the members of the State, Local, Tribal, and 
Territorial Government Coordinating Council (SLTTGCC).

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Larry May, Designated Federal Officer, 
Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council, Department of 
Homeland Security, National Protection and Programs Directorate, 245 
Murray Lane, Mail Stop 0607, Arlington, VA 20598-0607.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice of CIPAC Renewal: The Secretary of 
Homeland Security extended the CIPAC charter on March 19, 2012, for a 
period of two years. The current CIPAC charter reflecting the 
Secretary's action is available on the CIPAC Web site (http://www.dhs.gov/cipac).
    Purpose and Activities: CIPAC facilitates interaction between 
government officials and representatives of the community of owners and 
operators for each of the critical infrastructure sectors defined by 
Homeland Security Presidential Directive 7 (HSPD-7) and identified in 
the National Infrastructure Protection Plan. The scope of activities 
covered by CIPAC includes planning; coordinating among government and 
critical infrastructure owner/operator security partners; implementing 
security program initiatives; conducting operational activities related 
to critical infrastructure protection security measures, incident 
response, recovery, infrastructure resilience; reconstituting critical 
infrastructure assets and systems for both man-made and naturally 
occurring events; and sharing threat, vulnerability, risk mitigation, 
and infrastructure continuity information.
    Organizational Structure: CIPAC members are organized into the 
eighteen HSPD-7 critical infrastructure sectors. A Sector Coordinating 
Council (SCC) generally exists within each sector containing critical 
infrastructure owner/operators. The SCC includes these critical 
infrastructure owners/operators or their representative trade 
associations. Each sector also has a Government Coordinating Council 
(GCC) whose membership includes a lead Federal agency, defined as the 
Sector Specific Agency, and all relevant Federal, state, local, tribal, 
and/or territorial government agencies (or their representative bodies) 
whose mission interests also involve the scope of the CIPAC activities 
for that particular sector.
    Membership: CIPAC membership includes: (1) Critical infrastructure 
owner/operator members of an SCC; (2) trade association members of an 
SCC representing the interests of critical infrastructure owner/
operators; (3) each sector's GCC; and (4) governmental officials who 
are part of DHS's SLTTGCC. The new charter also prohibits Federally 
registered lobbyists from representing SCC members at CIPAC meetings. 
This requirement complies with a Presidential Policy Memorandum, 
``Lobbyists on Agency Boards and Commissions,'' issued on June 18, 
    CIPAC Membership Roster and Council Information: The current roster 
of CIPAC membership is published on the CIPAC Web site (http://www.dhs.gov/cipac) and is updated as CIPAC membership changes. Members 
of the public may visit the CIPAC Web site at any time to obtain 
current CIPAC membership as well as the current and historic list of 
CIPAC meetings and agendas.

    Dated: May 22, 2012.
Larry May,
Designated Federal Officer for the CIPAC.
[FR Doc. 2012-13234 Filed 5-31-12; 8:45 am]