[Federal Register Volume 77, Number 205 (Tuesday, October 23, 2012)]
[Pages 64818-64819]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2012-26040]



[Docket No. DHS-2012-0033]

The Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council

AGENCY: National Protection and Programs Directorate, DHS.

ACTION: Quarterly Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council 
membership update.


SUMMARY: The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced the

[[Page 64819]]

establishment of the Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory 
Council (CIPAC) in a Federal Register Notice (71 FR 14930-14933) dated 
March 24, 2006, which identified the purpose of CIPAC, as well as its 
membership. This notice provides: (i) quarterly CIPAC membership 
updates; (ii) instructions on how the public can obtain the CIPAC 
membership roster and other information on the council; and (iii) 
information on recently completed CIPAC meetings.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Larry May, Designated Federal Officer, 
Critical Infrastructure Partnership Advisory Council, Sector Outreach 
and Programs Division, Office of Infrastructure Protection, National 
Protection and Programs Directorate, U.S. Department of Homeland 
Security, 245 Murray Lane, Mail Stop 0607, Arlington, VA 20598-0607; by 
telephone: (703) 603-5070; or via email at: CIPAC@dhs.gov.
    Responsible DHS Official: Larry May, Designated Federal Officer for 
the CIPAC.

    Purpose and Activity: The CIPAC facilitates interaction between 
government officials and representatives of the community of owners 
and/or operators for each of the critical infrastructure sectors 
defined by Homeland Security Presidential Directive 7 and identified in 
the National Infrastructure Protection Plan. The scope of activities 
covered by the CIPAC includes planning; coordinating among government 
and critical infrastructure owner and operator security partners; 
implementing security program initiatives; conducting operational 
activities related to critical infrastructure protection security 
measures, incident response, recovery, and infrastructure resilience; 
reconstituting critical infrastructure assets and systems for both 
manmade as well as naturally occurring events; and sharing threat, 
vulnerability, risk mitigation, and infrastructure continuity 
    Organizational Structure: CIPAC members are organized into 18 
critical infrastructure sectors. Each of these sectors has a government 
coordinating council (GCC) whose membership includes (i) a lead Federal 
agency that is defined as the Sector-Specific Agency; (ii) all relevant 
Federal, state, local, tribal, and/or territorial government agencies 
(or their representative bodies) whose mission interests also involve 
the scope of the CIPAC activates for that particular sector; and (iii) 
a sector coordinating council (SCC) whose membership includes critical 
infrastructure owners and/or operators or their representative trade 
    CIPAC Membership: CIPAC Membership may include:
    (i) Critical Infrastructure owner and/or operator members of an 
    (ii) Trade association members who are members of an SCC 
representing the interests of critical infrastructure owners and/or 
    (iii) Each sector's GCC members; and
    (iv) State, local, tribal, and territorial governmental officials 
comprising the State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial GCC.
    CIPAC Membership Roster and Council Information: The current roster 
of CIPAC members is published on the CIPAC Web site (http://www.dhs.gov/cipac) and is updated as the CIPAC membership changes. 
Members of the public may visit the CIPAC Web site at any time to view 
current CIPAC membership as well as the current and historic list of 
CIPAC meetings and agendas.

    Dated: October 16, 2012.
Larry May,
Designated Federal Officer for the CIPAC.
[FR Doc. 2012-26040 Filed 10-22-12; 8:45 am]