[Federal Register Volume 78, Number 72 (Monday, April 15, 2013)]
[Pages 22346-22347]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2013-08698]



Request of Recommendations for Membership for Directorate and 
Office Advisory Committees

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: The National Science Foundation (NSF) requests recommendations 
for membership on its scientific and technical Federal advisory 
committees. Recommendations should consist of the submitting person's 
or organization's name and affiliation, the name of the recommended 
individual, the recommended individual's curriculum vita (2-5 pages), 
an expression of the individual's interest in serving, and the 
following recommended individual's contact information: employment 
address, telephone number, FAX number, and email address. Self 
recommendations are accepted. If you would like to make a 
recommendation for membership on any of our committees, please send 
your recommendation to the committee contact person listed below.

ADDRESSES: The mailing address for the National Science Foundation is 
4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22230.
    Web links to individual committee information may be found on NSF 
Web site: NSF Advisory Committees.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Each Directorate and Office has an external 
advisory committee that typically meets twice a year to review and 
provide advice on program management; discuss current issues; and 
review and provide advice on the impact of policies, programs, and 
activities in the disciplines and fields encompassed by the Directorate 
or Office. In addition to Directorate and Office advisory committees, 
NSF has several committees that provide advice and recommendation on 
specific topics: astronomy and astrophysics; environmental research and 
education; equal opportunities in science and engineering; direction, 
development, and enhancements of innovations; advanced 
cyberinfrastructure; international and integrative activities; and 
business and operations.
    A primary consideration when formulating committee membership is 
recognized knowledge, expertise, or demonstrated ability \1\. Other 
factors that may be considered are balance among diverse institutions, 
regions, and groups underrepresented in science, technology, 
engineering, and mathematics. Committee members serve for varying term 
lengths, depending on the nature of the individual committee. Although 
we welcome the recommendations we receive, we regret that NSF will not 
be able to acknowledge or respond positively to each person who 
contacts NSF or has been recommended. NSF intends to publish a similar 
notice to this on an annual basis. NSF will keep recommendations active 
for 12 months from the date of receipt.

    \1\ Federally registered lobbyists are not eligible for 
appointment to these Federal advisory committees.

    The chart below is a listing of the committees seeking 
recommendations for membership. Recommendations should be sent to the 
contact person identified below. The chart contains web addresses where 
additional information about individual committees is available.

[[Page 22347]]

      Advisory committee                     Contact person
Advisory Committee for          Charles Liarakos, Directorate for
 Biological Sciences http://     Biological Sciences; phone: (703) 292-
 www.nsf.gov/bio/advisory.jsp.   8400; email: cliarako@nsf.gov; fax:
                                 (703) 292-9154.
Advisory Committee for          Carmen Whitson, Directorate for Computer
 Computer and Information        and Information Science and
 Science and Engineering http:/  Engineering; phone: (703) 292-8900;
 /www.nsf.gov/cise/              email: cwhitson@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-
 advisory.jsp.                   9074.
Advisory Committee for          Marc Rigas, Division of Advanced
 Cyberinfrastructure http://     Cyberinfrastructure, phone: (703) 292-
 www.nsf.gov/od/oci/             8970; mrigas@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-
 advisory.jsp.                   9060.
Advisory Committee for          Amanda Edelman, Directorate for
 Education and Human Resources   Education and Human Resources; phone:
 http://www.nsf.gov/ehr/         (703) 292-8600; email:
 advisory.jsp.                   aedelman@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-9179.
Advisory Committee for          Kesh Narayanan, Directorate for
 Engineering http://             Engineering; phone: (703) 292-8300;
 www.nsf.gov/eng/advisory.jsp.   email: knarayan@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-
Advisory Committee for          Melissa Lane, Directorate for
 Geosciences http://             Geosciences: phone: (703) 292-8500;
 www.nsf.gov/geo/advisory.jsp.   email: mlane@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-
Advisory Committee for          Robert Webber, Office of International
 International Science and       and Integrative Activities, phone:
 Engineering http://             (703) 292-7569; email: rwebber@nsf.gov;
 www.nsf.gov/od/oise/            fax: (703) 292-9067.
Advisory Committee for          Kelsey Cook, Directorate for
 Mathematical and Physical       Mathematical and Physical Sciences;
 Sciences http://www.nsf.gov/    phone: (703) 292-7490; email:
 mps/advisory.jsp.               kcook@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-9151.
Advisory Committee for Social,  Lisa Jones, Social, Behavioral &
 Behavioral & Economic           Economic Sciences; phone: (703) 292-
 Sciences http://www.nsf.gov/    8700; email: lmjones@nsf.gov; fax:
 sbe/advisory.jsp.               (703) 292-9083.
Committee on Equal              Bernice Anderson, Office of
 Opportunities in Science and    International and Integrative
 Engineering http://             Activities; phone: (703) 292-8040;
 www.nsf.gov/od/oia/activities/  email: banderso@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-
 ceose/http://www.nsf.gov/od/    9040.
Advisory Committee for          Jeffrey Rich, Office of Information and
 Business and Operations http:/  Resource Management; phone: (703) 292-
 /www.nsf.gov/oirm/bocomm/.      8100; email: jrich@nsf.gov; (703) 292-
Advisory Committee for          Elizabeth Zelenski, Directorate for
 Environmental Research and      Geosciences; phone: (703) 292-8500;
 Education http://www.nsf.gov/   email: ezelensk@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-
 geo/ere/ereweb/advisory.cfm.    9042.
Advisory Committee for          Dedric Carter, Office of the Director;
 Innovation Corps http://        phone: (703) 292-8002; email:
 www.nsf.gov/od/oia/             dacarter@nsf.gov; fax: (703) 292-9232.
Astronomy and Astrophysics      Elizabeth Pentecost, Division of
 Advisory Committee http://      Astronomical Sciences; phone: (703) 292-
 www.nsf.gov/mps/ast/aaac.jsp.   4907; email: epenteco@nsf.gov; fax:
                                 (703) 292-9034.

    Dated: April 9, 2013.
Susanne Bolton,
Committee Management Officer.
[FR Doc. 2013-08698 Filed 4-12-13; 8:45 am]