[Federal Register Volume 78, Number 134 (Friday, July 12, 2013)]
[Proposed Rules]
[Pages 41867-41868]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2013-16731]



10 CFR Part 429

[Docket No. EERE-2013-BT-NOC-0023]

Appliance Standards and Rulemaking Federal Advisory Committee: 
Notice of Open Teleconference/Webinar

AGENCY: Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Department of 

ACTION: Notice of open meeting.


SUMMARY: This notice announces an additional open meeting of the 
Commercial Heating, Ventilation, and Air-conditioning (HVAC), Water 
Heating (WH), and Refrigeration Certification Working Group (Commercial 
Certification Group). The purpose of the Commercial Certification Group 
is to undertake a negotiated rulemaking to discuss and, if possible, 
reach consensus on proposed certification requirements for commercial 
HVAC, WH, and refrigeration equipment, as authorized by the Energy 
Policy and Conservation Act of 1975, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 
6313(a)(6)(C) and 6317(a).

DATES: The additional meeting will be held on Wednesday, July 10, 2013, 
9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. (EDT).

ADDRESSES: Room 6075, 950 L'Enfant Plaza, Washington, DC 20024.

Federal Officer, Supervisory Operations Research Analyst, U.S. 
Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable 
Energy, 950 L'Enfant Plaza SW., Washington, DC 20024. Email: 
[email protected].

    Membership: The members of the Certification Working Group were 
chosen from nominations submitted in response to the Department of 
Energy's call for nominations published in the Federal Register on 
Tuesday, March 12, 2013. 78 FR 15653. The selections are designed to 
ensure a broad and balanced array of stakeholder interests and 
expertise on the negotiating working group for the purpose of 
developing a rule that is legally and economically justified, 
technically sound, fair to all parties, and in the public interest. All 
meetings are open to all stakeholders and the public, and participation 
by all is welcome within boundaries as required by the orderly conduct 
of business. The members of the Certification Group are as follows:

DOE and ASRAC Representatives

 Laura Barhydt (U.S. Department of Energy)
 John Mandyck (UTC Climate, Controls & Security)
 Kent Peterson (P2S Engineering, Inc.)

Other Selected Members

 Karim Amrane (Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration 
 Timothy Ballo (EarthJustice)
 Jeff Bauman (National Refrigeration & Air-Conditioning)
 Brice Bowley (GE Appliances)
 Mary Dane (Traulsen)
 Paul Doppel (Mitsubishi Electric US, Inc.)
 Geoffrey Halley (SJI Consultants, Inc.)
 Pantelis Hatzikazakis (Lennox International, Inc.)
 Charles Hon (True Manufacturing)
 Jill Hootman (Trane)
 Marshall Hunt (Pacific Gas and Electric Company)
 Michael Kojak (Underwriters Laboratories LLC)
 Karen Meyers (Rheem Manufacturing Co.)
 Peter Molvie (Cleaver-Brooks Product Development)
 Neil Rolph (Lochinvar, LLC)

[[Page 41868]]

 Harvey Sachs (American Council for an Energy-Efficient 
 Ronald Shebik (Hussmann Corporation)
 Judd Smith (CSA)
 Louis Starr (Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance)
 Phillip Stephens (Heat Transfer Products)
 Russell Tharp (Goodman Manufacturing)
 Eric Truskoski (Bradford White Corp.)

    Purpose of Meeting: To provide advice and recommendations to the 
U.S. Department of Energy on certification requirements of commercial 
HVAC, WH, and refrigeration equipment under the authority of the 
Negotiated Rulemaking Act (5 U.S.C. 561-570, Pub. L. 104-320).
    Public Participation: Members of the public are welcome to observe 
the business of the meeting and, if time allows, may make oral 
statements during the specified period for public comment. To attend 
the meeting and/or to make oral statements regarding any of the items 
on the agenda, email [email protected]. In the email, please indicate 
your name, organization (if appropriate), citizenship, and contact 
information. Please note that foreign nationals visiting DOE 
Headquarters are subject to advance security screening procedures. Any 
foreign national wishing to participate in the meetings should advise 
ASRAC staff as soon as possible by emailing [email protected] to 
initiate the necessary procedures, no later than two weeks before each 
meeting. Anyone attending the meeting will be required to present a 
government photo identification, such as a passport, driver's license, 
or government identification. Due to the required security screening 
upon entry, individuals attending should arrive early to allow for the 
extra time needed.
    Members of the public will be heard in the order in which they sign 
up for the Public Comment Period. Time allotted per speaker will depend 
on the number of individuals who wish to speak but will not exceed five 
minutes. Reasonable provision will be made to include the scheduled 
oral statements on the agenda. A third-party neutral facilitator will 
make every effort to allow the presentations of views of all interested 
parties and to facilitate the orderly conduct of business.
    Participation in the meeting is not a prerequisite for submission 
of written comments. Written comments are welcome from all interested 
parties. Any comments submitted must identify the Commercial HVAC, WH, 
and Refrigeration Certification Working Group, and provide docket 
number EERE-2013-BT-NOC-0023. Comments may be submitted using any of 
the following methods:
    1. Federal eRulemaking Portal: www.regulations.gov. Follow the 
instructions for submitting comments.
    2. Email: [email protected]. Include docket 
number EERE-2013-BT-NOC-0023 in the subject line of the message.
    3. Mail: Ms. Brenda Edwards, U.S. Department of Energy, Building 
Technologies Program, Mailstop EE-2J, 1000 Independence Avenue SW., 
Washington, DC 20585-0121. If possible, please submit all items on a 
compact disc (CD), in which case it is not necessary to include printed 
    4. Hand Delivery/Courier: Ms. Brenda Edwards, U.S. Department of 
Energy, Building Technologies Program, 950 L'Enfant Plaza SW., Suite 
600, Washington, DC 20024. Telephone: (202) 586-2945. If possible, 
please submit all items on a CD, in which case it is not necessary to 
include printed copies.
    No telefacsimilies (faxes) will be accepted.
    Docket: The docket is available for review at www.regulations.gov, 
including Federal Register notices, public meeting attendee lists and 
transcripts, comments, and other supporting documents/materials. All 
documents in the docket are listed in the www.regulations.gov index. 
However, not all documents listed in the index may be publicly 
available, such as information that is exempt from public disclosure.
    The Secretary of Energy has approved publication of today's notice 
of proposed rulemaking.

    Issued in Washington, DC, on July 8, 2013.
Kathleen B. Hogan,
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency, Energy Efficiency and 
Renewable Energy.
[FR Doc. 2013-16731 Filed 7-11-13; 8:45 am]