### January 8

The President met at the White House with:

- —the Vice President; James A. Baker III, Chief of Staff to the President; Brent Scowcroft, Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs; and members of the CIA briefing staff;
- —Deputy Foreign Minister Boris Tarrasuik of Ukraine.

In the late morning, the President went to the CIA headquarters in Langley, VA, for a working luncheon and briefing. In the afternoon, he was joined there by Mrs. Bush, and they went to Camp David, MD, for the weekend.

The President appointed Vincent H. Dreeszen, of Nebraska, to be the U.S. Representative on the Kansas-Nebraska Big River Compact Administration. He would suceed Maurice A. Kremer.

The President announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the National Commission on Independent Higher Education:

William J. Keating, of Ohio.

Carolynn Reid-Wallace, of the District of Columbia.

The President appointed the following individuals to be members of the National Commission on Intermodal Transportation:

Phillip D. Brady, of California.

**Thomas J. Donohue,** of Maryland.

Edmund S. Hawley, of Nebraska.

The President recess appointed the following individuals to be members of the Defense Base Closure and Realignment Commission for terms expiring at the end of the first session of the 103d Congress:

**James A. Courter,** of New Jersey. Mr. Courter will be designated chairman.

Peter B. Bowman, of Maine.

Beverly Butcher Byron, of Maryland.

**Rebecca Gernhardt Cox,** of the District of Columbia.

Hansford T. Johnson, of Texas.

Arthur Levitt, Jr., of New York.

Harry C. McPherson, Jr., of Maryland.

Robert D. Stuart, Jr., of Illinois.

The President recess appointed Thomas Ludlow Ashley, of the District of Columbia, to be a Governor of the U.S. Postal Service. He would succeed Crocker Nevin.

The President announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board:

Mark N. Blitz, of Virginia.

Charles E. Horner, of the District of Columbia.

Ewell E. Murphy, Jr., of Texas.

Katherine L. Super, of Virginia.

Margarita B. Tonkinson, of Florida.

Rose M. Zamaria, of Virginia.

The President recess appointed Marion G. Chambers, of New Mexico, to be a member of the Board of Trustees of the Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development for a term expiring May 19, 1998. Ms. Chambers would succeed James Courtney Jennings.

The President announced his intention to appoint the following individuals to be members of the United States Holocaust Memorial Council for terms expiring January 15, 1998.

Jack Africk. of Florida.

Louis Gonda, of California.

Cecile Kremer, of Maryland.

**Ronald Lauder,** of New York.

*Miles Lerman,* of New Jersey.

Simcha Lyons, of Missouri.

**Murray Pantirer**, of New Jersey.

**Dennis Ross**, of Maryland.

**Samuel Rothberg**, of Illinois.

Arnold Thaler, of Illinois.

## Nominations Submitted to the Senate

The following list does not include promotions of members of the Uniformed Services, nominations to the Service Academies, or nominations of Foreign Service officers.

### Submitted January 5

The following named persons to be Members of the Defense Base Closure and Realignment Commission for terms expiring at the end of the first session of the 103d Congress:

James A. Courter, of New Jersey, to be Chairman (reappointment).

Peter B. Bowman, of Maine, vice Duane H. Cassidy, term expired.

Beverly Butcher Byron, of Maryland, vice Alexander B. Trowbridge, term expired.

Rebecca Gernhardt Cox, of the District of Columbia, vice James C. Smith II, term expired.

Hansford T. Johnson, of Texas, vice William L. Ball III, term expired.

Arthur Levitt, Jr., of New York (reappointment).

Harry C. McPherson, Jr., of Maryland, vice Howard H. Callaway, term expired.Robert D. Stuart, Jr., of Illinois (reappointment).

The following named persons to be members of the National Security Education Board for terms of 4 years (new positions): Steven Muller, of Maryland.

S. William Pattis, of Illinois. Richard F. Stolz, of Maryland.

## Marion G. Chambers,

of New Mexico, to be a member of the Board of Trustees of the Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development for a term expiring May 19, 1998, vice James Courtney Jennings, term expired.

The following named persons to be commissioners of the Copyright Royalty Tribunal for terms of 7 years:

Edward J. Damich, of Virginia.

Bruce D. Goodman, of Pennsylvania.

The following named persons who were appointed during the last recess of the Senate:

Brian C. Griffin, of Oklahoma, to be Chairman of the Administrative Conference of the United States for the term of 5 years, vice Marshall Jordan Breger.

Robert F. Goodwin, of Maryland, to be a commissioner on the part of the United States on the International Joint Commission, United States and Canada (reappointment).

Stephen T. Hart, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Transportation, vice Marion Clifton Blakey.

David P. Prosperi, of Illinois, to be a member of the Board of Directors of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting for a term expiring January 31, 1998, vice Marshall Turner, Jr., term expired.

Norman D. Shumway, of California, to be a member of the Board of Directors of the Legal Services Corporation for the remainder of the term expiring July 13, 1993.

# **Checklist** of White House Press Releases

The following list contains releases of the Office of the Press Secretary that are neither printed as items nor covered by entries in the Digest of Other White House Announcements.

### Released January 1 1

Fact sheet:

START II treaty

Fact sheet:

Treaty Between the United States of America and the Russian Federation on Further Reduction and Limitation of Strategic Offensive Arms

Fact sheet: Update on the START treaty

### Released January 6

Transcript:

Press briefing on the budget—by Richard G. Darman, Director, Office of Management and Budget

## Released January 7

Fact sheet:

Forest Service Study Reports: Red River, Kentucky; Greenbrier River, West Virginia; and Pyramid Peak, Planning Area, California

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>These items were not received in time for publication in the appropriate issue.