"I am pleased that these eight men and women have agreed to join our team and certain they will each work hard to support the great work being done by Secretaries Espy and Peña to make their Departments work better for the American people," the President said.

Department of Agriculture

Grant B. Buntrock, Administrator, Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service

Wayne H. Fawbush, Deputy Administrator, Farmers Home Administration

Lon Shoso Hatamiya, Administrator, Agricultural Marketing Service

Patricia A. Jensen, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Marketing and Inspection Service

Bonnie Luken, Deputy General Counsel Wilbur T. Peer, Associate Administrator, Rural Development Agency

Department of Transportation

Antonio Califa, Director of Civil Rights Frank Weaver, Director of Commercial Space Transportation

NOTE: Biographies of the nominees were made available by the Office of the Press Secretary.

Digest of Other White House Announcements

The following list includes the President's public schedule and other items of general interest announced by the Office of the Press Secretary and not included elsewhere in this issue.

August 29

In the late evening, the President and Hillary and Chelsea Clinton returned from Martha's Vineyard, MA, to Washington, DC.

August 31

The White House announced the President has invited Prime Minister Carlo Azeglio Ciampi of Italy to the White House for a working lunch on September 17.

The White House announced the President sent to Congress FY 1994 budget

amendments for the Department of Justice to support the immigration initiative that the President announced on July 27.

September 3

In the morning, the President traveled to Dover, DE, where he was given a tour of the school-to-work program of Opportunity Skyway at the Sussex County Airport. He then returned to Washington, DC, in the early afternoon.

In the late afternoon, in a ceremony on the State Floor, the President received diplomatic credentials from Ambassadors Tuiloma Neroni Slade of Western Samoa. Carlo Switzerland, Koumbairia Jagmetti of Laoumaye Mekonyo of the Republic of Chad, Toomas Hendrik Ilves of the Republic of Estonia, Peter P. Chkheidze of the Republic of Georgia, Loucas Tsilas of Greece, Paul Boundoukou-Latha of the Gabonese Republic, Marc Michael Marengo of the Republic of Seychelles, Raul C. Rabe of the Republic of the Philippines, and Odeen Ishmael of Guyana.

Nominations Submitted to the Senate

NOTE: No nominations were submitted to the Senate during the period covered by this issue.

Checklistof White House Press Releases

The following list contains releases of the Office of the Press Secretary that are neither printed as items nor covered by entries in the Digest of Other White House Announcements.

Released August 31

Statement on the FY 1994 budget amendments for the Department of Justice to support the immigration initiative that the President announced on July 27