Administration of George W. Bush, 2008

Caroline C. Hunter,

of Florida, to be a member of the Federal Election Commission for a term expiring April 30, 2013, vice Michael E. Toner, resigned.

Donald F. McGahn,

of the District of Columbia, to be a member of the Federal Election Commission for a term expiring April 30, 2009, vice David M. Mason, term expired.

Troy A. Paredes,

of Missouri, to be a member of the Securities and Exchange Commission for a term expiring June 5, 2013, vice Paul S. Atkins, resigned.

Withdrawn May 6

Robert J. Battista,

of Michigan, to be a member of the National Labor Relations Board for the term of 5 years expiring December 16, 2009, vice Dennis P. Walsh, which was sent to the Senate on January 25, 2008.

Robert D. Lenhard,

of Maryland, to be a member of the Federal Election Commission for a term expiring April 30, 2011, vice Danny Lee McDonald, term expired, which was sent to the Senate on January 9, 2007.

David M. Mason,

of Virginia, to be a member of the Federal Election Commission for a term expiring April 30, 2009 (reappointment), which was sent to the Senate on January 9, 2007.

Submitted May 7

William Walter Wilkins III,

of South Carolina, to be U.S. Attorney for the District of South Carolina for the term of 4 years, vice Reginald I. Lloyd, resigned.

Submitted May 8

Glen E. Conrad,

of Virginia, to be U.S. Circuit Judge for the Fourth Circuit, vice H. Emory Widener, retired.

Donetta Davidson,

of Colorado, to be a member of the Election Assistance Commission for a term expiring December 12, 2011 (reappointment).

Rosemary E. Rodriguez,

of Colorado, to be a member of the Election Assistance Commission for a term expiring December 12, 2011 (reappointment).

Checklist of White House Press Releases

The following list contains releases of the Office of the Press Secretary that are neither printed as items nor covered by entries in the Digest of Other White House Announcements.

Released May 4

Advance text of the President's commencement address at Greensburg High School in Greensburg, KS

Released May 5

Transcript of a press briefing by Deputy Press Secretary Scott M. Stanzel

Statement by the Press Secretary on disaster assistance to Oklahoma

Released May 6

Transcript of a press briefing by Press Secretary Dana Perino

Statement by the Press Secretary on the Russia-U.S. agreement for peaceful nuclear cooperation

Statement by the Press Secretary announcing that the President signed H.R. 4286

Released May 7

Transcript of a press briefing by National Security Adviser Stephen J. Hadley on the President's upcoming visit to the Middle East

Statement by the Press Secretary announcing that the President signed H.R. 5715

Statement by the Press Secretary announcing that the President signed H.R. 3196, H.R. 3468, H.R. 3532, H.R. 3720, H.R. 3803, H.R.

3936, H.R. 3988, H.R. 4166, H.R. 4203, H.R. 4211, H.R. 4240, H.R. 4454, H.R. 5135, H.R. 5220, H.R. 5400, H.R. 5472, and H.R. 5489

Released May 8

Transcript of a press gaggle by National Security Council Press Secretary Gordon Johndroe

Statement by the Press Secretary announcing that the President signed S. 2457 and S. 2739

Statement by the Deputy Press Secretary on disaster assistance to Mississippi

Released May 9

Transcript of a press briefing by National Security Council Press Secretary Gordon Johndroe

Statement by the Deputy Press Secretary on the situation in Lebanon

Statement by the Deputy Press Secretary on disaster assistance to Oklahoma

Statement by the Deputy Press Secretary on disaster assistance to Maine

Fact sheet: Congress' Farm Bill is Bad for American Taxpayers

Acts Approved by the President

Approved May 6

H.R. 4286 / Public Law 110–209 To award a congressional gold medal to Daw Aung San Suu Kyi in recognition of her courageous and unwavering commitment to peace, nonviolence, human rights, and democracy in Burma

Approved May 7

H.R. 3196 / Public Law 110-210

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 20 Sussex Street in Port Jervis, New York, as the "E. Arthur Gray Post Office Building"

H.R. 3468 / Public Law 110–211

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 1704 Weeksville Road in Elizabeth City, North Carolina, as the "Dr. Clifford Bell Jones, Sr. Post Office"

H.R. 3532 / Public Law 110–212

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 5815 McLeod Street in Lula, Georgia, as the "Private Johnathon Millican Lula Post Office"

H.R. 3720 / Public Law 110-213

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 424 Clay Avenue in Waco, Texas, as the "Army PFC Juan Alonso Covarrubias Post Office Building"

H.R. 3803 / Public Law 110-214

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 3100 Cashwell Drive in Goldsboro, North Carolina, as the "John Henry Wooten, Sr. Post Office Building"

H.R. 3936 / Public Law 110–215

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 116 Helen Highway in Cleveland, Georgia, as the "Sgt. Jason Harkins Post Office Building"

H.R. 3988 / Public Law 110–216

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 3701 Altamesa Boulevard in Fort Worth, Texas, as the "Master Sergeant Kenneth N. Mack Post Office Building"

H.R. 4166 / Public Law 110–217

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 701 East Copeland Drive in Lebanon, Missouri, as the "Steve W. Allee Carrier Annex"

H.R. 4203 / Public Law 110–218

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 3035 Stone Mountain Street in Lithonia, Georgia, as the "Specialist Jamaal RaShard Addison Post Office Building"

H.R. 4211 / Public Law 110-219

To designate the facility of the United States Postal Service located at 725 Roanoke Avenue in Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, as the "Judge Richard B. Allsbrook Post Office"

682